The Sarge's Goetta - German Breakfast Treat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Man this was so easy. I used Beef Broth & Beef Bouillon cube. Tennessee Pride Hot sausage. Fresh ground Black Pepper, minced white onion and ground bay leaf. I cooked the steel cut oats with beef broth, bay leaf, and Bouillon in the rice cooker. Snipped the metal ends off the sausage and defrosted. Cooked the sausage on the stove and some of the broth. (Used a potato masher to break up and cook through). Added minced onion..cooked a bit. Added all to rice cooker. it was done in no time. I did stir and reset rice cooker. I used 32 oz broth 1 3/4 cup oats. 1 pound sausage. 2/3 medium onion. Added a bit more water to cook thoroughly. I greased some small lunch meat containers to store the sausage. I cannot believe how easy this was. And by using my favorite sausage it has to be great! I love steel cut oats. I'm sure my husband will help me with the proper spice..but it cooks up nice and crispy. Takes great to me! I eat cooked in an all clad skillet with some friend apples, & tiny bit of I can't believe it's not Butter.....yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Since I like scrapple, and I'd just bought some steel cut oats, I thought I'd give goetta a try. Cut recipe in half and the slow cooker was filled to the top. Used quality Gunnoe's pork sausage and added a tablespoon of Mrs Dash Table Blend as suggested in on review. I still prefer scrapple, but this was very good along with fried eggs. Next time I'll be careful to not overcook the oats (left them going about two hours), will probably add minced garlic, may increase the sausage to 1 1/2 lb. and decrease the ground beef by 1/2 lb. to ramp up the sausage flavor. I'll also make sure the meat and onions are very well mixed. Recommend that you slice thin and fry in butter (or better yet bacon grease) in medium high skillet until browned and crispy on both sides. Good country eaten'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Solon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Great Recipe! I cut the recipe in half and made six mini loaves. I couldn't wait to get up this morning and have some with my eggs and toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I lived in Cincinnati all my life. I recently moved to Long Island, New York. I miss my Goetta. They never heard of it here. AMAZING, I know. I made this just today, OMG!! It was AWESOME!!! I did use Pin Oats though. I had to order them online, bay leaves, sage, & Mrs. Dash. For those that NEVER had or HEARD of Goetta here in the Big Apple LOVED IT!!! Thanks for sharing this with us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I've only had goetta once, when I visited Cincinnati several years ago, so this recipe intrigued me. Even though I made a much smaller batch, just a quarter of the original recipe, I follwed the directions exactly. Like others have noted, there was no way that this was going to become "sliceable," so I just formed it into patties. I fried it in bacon grease and it did seem to hold together much better if I didn't flip the patties as often, let it get really brown and crispy before turning the patties. The first day, I thought that this must be an acquired taste; the second day I thought that it was pretty good; the third day I really enjoyed it, but I was getting kind of tired of eating goetta every day! Overall, I'm glad I made this and I'll no doubt do so again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I am a big goetta fan and this is pretty close. I added some crushed red pepper to give it a little heat without changing the taste. Another thing, don't use anything other than just plain pork sausage or you will alter the true authentic taste. A lot of people commented that it would fall apart. I believe the problem is that there is no gelatin in the mix to hold it together. Recipes handed down within families call for the boiling of either a pork shoulder or butt with the bone and then using that broth for your "steel cut" pin oats. The boiling of the meat (bone) produces the gelatin that ultimately keeps it together. Its a little more work, having the grind the meat and all, but the outcome is significant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
i followed this to the letter. it will not firm up to cut - its just mush - like oatmeal but half as thick. will not brown. the only part that will brown will not come off the pan. will not hold any sort of form it spreads out like a pan cake once it warmed up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This is a really good recipe! I've only had the store bought brand here in Cinci before trying this and it was very similar! I used turkey and it came out great. I also have never had it in patties. We always have mashed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I prepared this yesterday and tried frying it for breakfast today. I'm not impressed. Other than using ground pork instead of sausage and halving the recipe, I followed the directions exactly. The flavour is alright (a little glue-y for my tastes and could do with some spices I've seen in other traditional goetta recipes), but it fell apart in the pan. I cooked it in bacon grease and left it until it was good and crispy, but with no luck. It's a lot of work for such a bland and messy dish. I think I'll keep trying goetta recipes until I find one that works for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeannine1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Am looking forward to trying this. Having grown up in the Pennsylvania area I would imagine that this goetta is a version of Scrapple, which is an awsome dish and i have rarely seen scrapple outside of PA. Scrapple uses cornmeal instead of oats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States