The Sarge's Goetta - German Breakfast Treat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I grew up up in Cincinnati and goetta was always a favorite breakfast when I was young. I love this recipe. My dad and I never could agree about whether to put maple syrup on it (him) or ketchup on it (me). I like it with or without ketchup, but never could sully the taste with syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Harrison, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
The ONLY way to prepare goetta is by hand grinding the meat. Preferably by using the "cast iron hand crank" left to you by your Mother:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
LOVE!!!!!! This is such a great breakfast--I love that it combines the protein of the meats with the stick-to-your-ribs oatmeal. This recipe is a definite winner with the whole family--even my one-year old loves it. Thank you so much. My one comment is that with this recipe, the Sarge is definitely feeding his army. I cut the recipe in half and still ended up with enough to put in the freezer for the future. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I moved from Cincinnati to Portland, OR about a year ago and was reluctant to try this recipe. I halved it and got about 4 good loafs of goetta, enough to last a month and a half. Next time I'll probably just do 1/4 of the recipe. As a note, I have officially turned Portlanders onto goetta, they can't get enough. I also just used the pork sausage, not beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
A couple notes; Those who said they used pin head oats instead of steel cut oats, don't worry, they are the same product. Pls use ground pork shoulder not pork sausage. Sausage changes the flavor to a taste not associated w/ goetta. Great grandmother Shuttlecuttie from Cincy says you also need 1/2 lb of ground calf's liver. Fry in iron skillet w/ Crisco after chilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I was raised with this recipe! Loved it then and now! It is good as skyline chili in cincinnati! I live in ga so I dont get that often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Overall, we really enjoyed this! Step 1-3 went off without a hitch. I ended up putting the meat + onion in my food processor because I couldn't get the mixture uniform with hand mixing. When it came time to slice and fry up, they just fell apart into hash. I tried different pans, different oil/fats, and different levels of thickness. They just came apart every time - the hash was yummy though! I ended up putting the slices on a sprayed cookie sheet in a 375 degree onion for 20+ minutes. They came out great - nice and crispy. I didn't even need to flip them. Very tasty recipe - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Obviously a taste acquired in early childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss_msry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This recipe is amazing! Tastes just like store bought Goetta from Cincinnati! I've made this recipe 3 times, and I'd managed to make a huge mess just once. READ THE RECIPE! The first time, I added the oats to the meat and cooked it all at once, surprisingly it came out good still. The second time, I left the heat on high after I added the meat (DON'T DO THIS!!) it came out like soup. The third, I've managed to perfect it. If your "meat stew mixture" starts to look watery after about an hour, just go ahead and begin the cooling process. I roll them into little tootsie roll looking logs and store one in the fridge and freeze the others to defrost the night before I plan to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I have been making goetta for years in my crockpot and this could almost be my recipe!! The only thing I do different is to press a couple of bay leaves into the goetta after I put it into the loaf pans. Also, to save time, I just boil the water in my tea kettle then pour it all in the crockpot. I put this in the little tinfoil loaf pans, and put those in a ziplock in the freezer. One of the little pans is a ration for my wife and I. A couple duck eggs, and a slice or two of my homemade bread and that's a meal that will stick with you as you do the morning chores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigCountry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States