The Sarge's Goetta - German Breakfast Treat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This stuff is good! I think it might be an acquired taste though because the more I ate the better it got, and the crispier it was the better too. Very easy to make it just takes quite a long time. I think next time I'll probably cut back on the cooking time for the steel cut oats because I had about an inch stuck to the bottom of my crock pot when I finished the 90 minutes. Also, it might be easier to take all the ingredients after the oats are cooked, and mix them in a large bowl before transferring them back into the crockpot because it was hard to mix all together in the crockpot. I just went ahead and refrigerated this overnight because it took so long we went out to eat and I finished cooking the goetta the next morning. I might consider trying to cut this recipe in half next time because it makes a ton. I'm used to making big meals, but this was just overwhelming. It completely fills the crockpot. And when your only cutting thin slices to fry it goes a long way. I'm thinking about freezing the leftovers. I'm not sure if that will work out in the end, but it's worth a try. If you like to cook and don't mind the time it takes, and like to try new things, especially foods from Germany, Hungary, Poland, ect. try this I think it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie Renee Stacy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Malvern, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
Far more work that it is worth, would rather have a plain old sausage pattie. This must be an aquired taste. If you have never tried it I suggest you cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
My husband’s grandmother born in 1900 made the stove top Goetta well into her 90’s. I must admit I was a little skeptical when shortly after our wedding she gave me a pan to fix for him. I have since come to love it. She generally used pork, but was also known to mix in beef and even chicken. In later years she used greased aluminum mini loaf pans to cool and then freeze her goetta. I enjoy my goetta with eggs and toast. My husband prefers his just like his grandma, served on fresh bread drizzled with syrup. Thank you so much for a simpler way to bring our children a little family heritage at the breakfast table. I have introduced much of my extended family to goetta and now many of them love the stuff too. We have even had get togethers in the fall just to make large batches of the stove top kind. I can’t wait to share this recipe with them so they can enjoy goetta anytime. By the way, we’re from Indiana. I have had questions about the oats before. We use Dorsel’s Pinhead Oatmeal. Thank you again Sarge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Brookville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rushville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
You have made my cooking dreams come true!!! My grandparents both German were from Fort Thomas KY just near cincy, they bought this stuff at a local store and I never could find it anywhere. I hadn't had it since they past away. I made it and all those wonderful memories of gros papa and boo came flooding back. Thanks so very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lyndylou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
This recipe is great! It is easier, just as tasty, and has a better consistancy than our stovetop recipe. To fit in our crockpot, we halved the recipe. Also, we added 1 Tbsp of Mrs. Dash table blend to enhance the flavor. (You can also sprinkle it on the finished product to see if you like it. We highly recommend it.) We also cooled it completely in the pan, turned it onto a cutting board, cut it into usable portions, and froze them for easy use. Thanks for a fabulous recipe that is absolutely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I remember someone in the family fondly recalling "Grandma's pork based oatmeal breakfast concoction that was fried up like bacon" (never heard of Goetta though) and thinking I'd like to try that "someday"....well I did and I gotta say it's GREAT!! And I'm not even from around the Cincy area....Thanks Sarge for the tasty recipe!! I was thinking of trying an Italian sausage in the mix and frying it up using olive oil for a slight variation. I hope Grandma would approve....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Washington, USA
Living In: Kapowsin, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I live in the Cincy area and I can't beleive this recipe! It is so much better than the stuff you buy in the store. Relatives of mine live in Ct and always want me to send them goetta which can get expensive, so I am going to give them this and they too are sure to love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Just like my mother used to make back in Cincy! I don't cook mine nearly as long as shown in the recipe. I found the oatmeal (steel cut) in the health foods section at Krogers. I have cut back on the amount of water as it gives the goetta a thicker consistency that makes it easier to fry. I also line the bread pan with wax paper that allows me to remove it from the pan and makes it easier to slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hope, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Thanks for a very old Cincinnati memory! I had almost forgotten just how much we always liked Goetta until I recently saw this recipe posted. I lost my own recipe many years ago, shortly after we left Cincinnati.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
My husband and I live 50 miles north of Cincinnati and had never even heard of goetta. It truly is a Cincinnati thing. Our daughter-in-law who was raised in Cinci. introduced it to us.Wow! We were immediatly hooked. So much so, I went on the hunt for a recipe and was elated to find this one. I increased the pepper to 3 teaspoons to kick it up a notch.We really like pepper. My husband keeps raving about it. I know this is a recipe I will use often and will quickly end up as a " Grandma's recipe" that will be handed down through the family. Thanks for the recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States