The Sarge's Goetta - German Breakfast Treat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
D-E-L-I-C-I-O-U-S!!!! I have made only once, but this recipe is definitely a keeper. I have not changed anything when I made it and it is very easy to make. Only I, even though it is quite contrary to the whole idea of it, next time will use ground beef. Our family does not really like pork, and this recipe turned out pretty greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This is a savory version of something my mother and grandmother used to make when we were kids. They would make a large pot of sweet oat meal, we would have a serving and the rest would be shaped into a loaf and the next day it would be sliced and fried, than drizzled with maple syrup. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This was ok. Nothing that I would make again though. The trick to these, you have to slice it very very thin and fry it on a low setting for a longer period of time. If you don't - like mine, they will taste a bit mushy in your mouth. Smelled great when cooked in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I wouldn't change a thing. Great dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Zuch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I was very unsure of this recipe, cause I'm not an oatmeal person. But this recipe was awesome and I will make it again. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
This sounded so interesting to me I had to try it! I did cut the recipe in half...glad I did because it made SO much. I might spray the crock pot with "Pam" next time...the oats stuck for me, as one other person mentioned. Also, I don't know why, but my slices kind of go to mush when I fry them...guess I need to us a teflon pan. But, all in all, I really enjoyed the recipe and will make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
My husband was very skeptical when he saw how much was in the crock pot and no matter what I told him about the rave reviews this recipe receives convinced him that it would taste like his favorite (Gliers)- until he tried it the next morning! He said it was delicious. Since it made so much, I gave my dad a 'loaf' and he says it's the best he's ever had. I usually don't fry my goetta in oil or butter, but rely on the fat in the product. I'll use butter or a little bit of oil next time since the fat was absorbed by the oats. I had little refrigerator space and it was late when the product finished cooking, so I put the mixture into a 9 x 13 pan, evened it out and let it cool off a bit at room temperature before putting it into the refrigerator. The next morning, I turned it out onto waxed paper and cut it into 3 loaves. I plan to freeze the 3rd- but next time, I'll cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Tried this. Worked great. Did make a few changes. Used only pork (meat from pork neck bones cooked for 2 hrs). Added 1 bay leaf and 1/2 tsp. sage. As good or better than Gliers in Cincinnati, OH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I couldn't wait to try this, so I paid a high price at the health food store for the oats. It wasn't difficult to make and my family loves it. I froze it on a wax papered cookie sheet and then put into freezer bags. This will be a regular for us. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beattyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
We moved from Cincinnati 10 years ago and I was ordering goetta online for $90 for 24 rolls. I saw this recipe and made it today. Wow, just like we remembered. The kids came running, "it smells like goetta". I didn't have a crock pot big enough so I used the stove top. It only took an hour to cook the oats and 2 hours for the meat. I think next time I'll add all pork instead of the beef. I also made a vegy batch for one of my girls that doesn't eat meat by using soy crumbles. I didn't think it was as good but she really enjoyed it. This recipe was much healthier than the stuff I used to buy in Cincinnati (don't read the ingredient list unless you want to make yourself ill). Thank you, thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States