The Rebbetzin Chef's Persian Walnut Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Yummy! And SUPER easy to slap together - I mixed it all up in under a minute. Wear latex gloves while rolling the balls, as the mixture can be a tad sticky. I tried them with both walnuts and almonds... the walnut ones were richer and chewier, while the almond ones turned out crunchier and a bit lighter. I prefer the walnut version. They were baking in the oven when my husband came home, and he commented that they made the house smell heavenly. This will definitely be a staple for when I have guests - they're so fancy and gourmet-tasting, with so little effort on my part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
These were incredible. I made a double batch - one for a hostess gift, and one to stash in my freezer. The family I gave them to LOVED them and requested the recipe. I ended up raiding my own freezer for them the next day - my husband and I ate the whole batch in one sitting! I'll definitely be making them this year for Passover. Thanks for the awesome recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I took a beautiful platter of these cookies to a party and the following morning, my husband grabbed a few to have with his coffee! Crispy, delicate, light & nice flavor! I used 1/2 ground almonds & 1/2 ground walnuts & I didn't have time to finish with the egg wash. I baked them on a Silpat sheet, so while they were very soft emerging from the oven, they were perfectly easy to remove, and crisped up immediately when cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
These cookies were very tasty and delicious. Very easy to make. I also made them with almonds & almond poweder,using the same recipe. I will make theses again . Next time I will try pistachio. Everyone loved these cookies.Thank you for sharing a lovely recipe. 5 stars for easy~ 5 stars for delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellagatta
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
These cookies were a huge hit with my Persian family. They were gone in a matter of minutes! A few tips: My first batched burned very quickly. Start checking on them after 10 minutes. The cookies flattened out a lot. They were very thin so the two inch spacing between cookies is very important. Also, I only used 1 tsp cardamom and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
"The Rebbetzin Chef's Persian Walnut Cookies" are really delicious! I made them for Nowruz (Iranian New Year), and my Iranian-born husband approved them! They bring back memories of Iran and Ameh Fatimeh's walnut grove in the mountains. Here are my own tips for making these cookies learned through my own trial and error process: (i) sort the walnut halves (grind the imperfect halves for the cookie dough and save the perfect halves for the garnish on top); (ii) weight the walnuts before grinding them so you can just make the entire cookie directly in the food processor after grinding the walnuts (1.5 cups of ground walnuts = 8-1/8 ounces of walnuts according to my measures); (iii) refrigerate the dough before rolling into balls (much easier to work with); (iv) use an actual measuring spoon (teaspoon) for measuring the dough (these cookies spread to about 2" diameter although the walnut garnish will be the same size as the cookie before baking); (v) CONSIDER REMOVING THE COOKIES FROM OVEN AFTER 10 MINUTES (NOT 20 MINUTES AS IN THE RECIPE) UNLESS YOU LIKE BURNT COOKIES JUST LIKE MY FIRST BATCH. They appear raw, but cook sitting on cookie sheet cooling in the following 10 minutes (as in the recipe description); (vi) the cookies taste best if let to sit a day for the flavor to develop. Thank you The Rebbetzin Chef for sharing your recipe. It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I followed the recipes as written, but heeded the advise of another and reduced the bake time to 10 minutes. They turned out spectacular! Seems a few folks have different methods of getting the walnuts finely ground. I happen to have a Health Master (Living Well with Montel) and I was able to use the pulse feature to get the walnuts completely ground/mashed. The walnuts ended up to be the consistency of peanut butter. This seemed to work great for this recipe. To get uniform size cookies I rolled a small 1-inch diameter size tube and used a teaspoon to slice each into desired portion size. I rolled each measured unit into balls and topped with a walnut piece. I also sprinkled each with a dash more cardamon for a little extra flavor. I happen to love cardamon! My husband is Persian, and was wowed by this treat. I served this with our afternoon tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Just had the most fun trying out this recipe! Read the reviews and followed the recipe as written except substituted pistachios as suggested in the description above. Easy to make and just love the resulting unusual aroma and taste of these cookies. Family loves them, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Very easy and just as tasty. Because walnuts are the main ingredient, these are a bit on the oily side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
These were awesome! They had a lovely crisp after they cooled and my whole family enjoyed them. I did as another reviewer suggested and I beat the three egg yolks for five minutes before gradually adding the rest of the ingredients. I didn't grind my walnuts to a powder and I left them in tiny pieces. Also, as I didn't have rose water or cardamom, I used a teaspoon of maple syrup (I like to substitute vanilla extract with maple syrup; you can hardly notice the difference) and scant two teaspoons of grated ginger instead. I didn't do the egg glaze and I rolled the dough into 1/2 teaspoon sized balls. I lined my cookie sheets with parchment paper and I baked them at 300 degrees for 15 minutes. Sadly some on the bottom rack burned though :( watch them carefully. Other than that, the cookies turned out great! They looked exactly like the ones in the photo. I'll definitely be making these again. This recipe made around sixty small cookies. They do spread, so don't forget to leave space between the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hedgehog Cookies

Melted chocolate and chopped pecans turn cookies into fun hedgehogs!

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States