The Rebbetzin Chef's Persian Walnut Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I took a beautiful platter of these cookies to a party and the following morning, my husband grabbed a few to have with his coffee! Crispy, delicate, light & nice flavor! I used 1/2 ground almonds & 1/2 ground walnuts & I didn't have time to finish with the egg wash. I baked them on a Silpat sheet, so while they were very soft emerging from the oven, they were perfectly easy to remove, and crisped up immediately when cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Just had the most fun trying out this recipe! Read the reviews and followed the recipe as written except substituted pistachios as suggested in the description above. Easy to make and just love the resulting unusual aroma and taste of these cookies. Family loves them, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Very easy and just as tasty. Because walnuts are the main ingredient, these are a bit on the oily side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
These were incredible. I made a double batch - one for a hostess gift, and one to stash in my freezer. The family I gave them to LOVED them and requested the recipe. I ended up raiding my own freezer for them the next day - my husband and I ate the whole batch in one sitting! I'll definitely be making them this year for Passover. Thanks for the awesome recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Yummy! And SUPER easy to slap together - I mixed it all up in under a minute. Wear latex gloves while rolling the balls, as the mixture can be a tad sticky. I tried them with both walnuts and almonds... the walnut ones were richer and chewier, while the almond ones turned out crunchier and a bit lighter. I prefer the walnut version. They were baking in the oven when my husband came home, and he commented that they made the house smell heavenly. This will definitely be a staple for when I have guests - they're so fancy and gourmet-tasting, with so little effort on my part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
These cookies were very tasty and delicious. Very easy to make. I also made them with almonds & almond poweder,using the same recipe. I will make theses again . Next time I will try pistachio. Everyone loved these cookies.Thank you for sharing a lovely recipe. 5 stars for easy~ 5 stars for delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellagatta
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
These cookies were a huge hit with my Persian family. They were gone in a matter of minutes! A few tips: My first batched burned very quickly. Start checking on them after 10 minutes. The cookies flattened out a lot. They were very thin so the two inch spacing between cookies is very important. Also, I only used 1 tsp cardamom and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I followed the recipes as written, but heeded the advise of another and reduced the bake time to 10 minutes. They turned out spectacular! Seems a few folks have different methods of getting the walnuts finely ground. I happen to have a Health Master (Living Well with Montel) and I was able to use the pulse feature to get the walnuts completely ground/mashed. The walnuts ended up to be the consistency of peanut butter. This seemed to work great for this recipe. To get uniform size cookies I rolled a small 1-inch diameter size tube and used a teaspoon to slice each into desired portion size. I rolled each measured unit into balls and topped with a walnut piece. I also sprinkled each with a dash more cardamon for a little extra flavor. I happen to love cardamon! My husband is Persian, and was wowed by this treat. I served this with our afternoon tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
These were awesome! They had a lovely crisp after they cooled and my whole family enjoyed them. I did as another reviewer suggested and I beat the three egg yolks for five minutes before gradually adding the rest of the ingredients. I didn't grind my walnuts to a powder and I left them in tiny pieces. Also, as I didn't have rose water or cardamom, I used a teaspoon of maple syrup (I like to substitute vanilla extract with maple syrup; you can hardly notice the difference) and scant two teaspoons of grated ginger instead. I didn't do the egg glaze and I rolled the dough into 1/2 teaspoon sized balls. I lined my cookie sheets with parchment paper and I baked them at 300 degrees for 15 minutes. Sadly some on the bottom rack burned though :( watch them carefully. Other than that, the cookies turned out great! They looked exactly like the ones in the photo. I'll definitely be making these again. This recipe made around sixty small cookies. They do spread, so don't forget to leave space between the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This is a excellent recipe and I disagree with the others who complained that the egg mixture is too runny or that there is not enough egg for walnut mixture. The trick is to beat the egg yolks on medium/high for 5 minutes until it is light and yellow and gradually add sugar. Then you have a nice white/sugar paste. Then I mix in the almonds. I use a kitchenaid mixture for all this mixing. I didn't have any problem rolling them into small little teaspoon size balls using my hand. A standard cookie sheet will fit 18 little dough balls. My mom is persian and she said these reminded her of the same cookies she had when she was a child. I used only 2 tsp of cardamom and omitted the rose water. Despite many persian recipes using rose water, the authentic recipe does not call for it. I added 1 tsp of vanilla instead and the taste was perfect. I also think the baking time is too high and this will burn your cookies. I baked mine at 300 degrees for 20 minutes middle rack. Perfect to dip in tasty persian black tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States