The Rebbetzin Chef's Persian Walnut Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I have baked these twice so far. First time I messed up on timing and burned the batch. Second I followed directions more precisely and ended with some of the most beautiful and great tasting cookies. Will definitely make bake them again. I am not sure why people think three egg yolks were not enough. Dough turned out to be very good. One thing don't leave them on the baking rack and for me it took about twelve minutes to bake. After ten minutes you have to watch them because they burn very quickly after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. Tassawar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I've made this recipe on several occasions. When the cookies turn out well, they are scrumptious and are easily gone in two days. We refer to them as walnut lace cookies because they are light, have a little crunch, and are flavorful. But, as other reviewers have mentioned, I've have had my share of problems with this recipe. Three egg yolks usually aren't enough to make the batter stick (it hardly clumps together!) So, I either add another egg yolk (making 4 in total) or 2 egg yolks and one whole egg. I also have major issues with the term "finely ground walnuts." One time, I pulsed whole walnuts in a food processor to create finely ground nuts; I ended up with one, big, runny cookie. Another time, I lightly pounded whole walnuts in a plastic bag with a skillet; the end result was a slightly less runny cookie. So, I now used chopped walnut pieces. My cookies aren't as smooth as the ones shown in the photograph, but at least they are individual cookies. Also, I think using a silpat pad works better than the parchment paper. As the recipe suggests, do leave space between cookies because they spread and 20 minutes is indeed sufficient cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
These are, without question, some of the best cookies I've ever had or made. Not really hard to make at all, and they have a very distinct flavor. I wound up using pecans instead, since I'm sort of a fan of them, and they turned out wonderfully. My grandmother ate most all of these. She's not usually big on "exotic" ingredients like cardamom or rose water, but she said these cookies were addictive. I'll definitely be making them again, hopefully figuring the egg glaze out this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
These cookies were very tasty and delicious. Very easy to make. I also made them with almonds & almond poweder,using the same recipe. I will make theses again . Next time I will try pistachio. Everyone loved these cookies.Thank you for sharing a lovely recipe. 5 stars for easy~ 5 stars for delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellagatta
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Delicious and easy! I don't get why people complain/give a bad review when they don't follow directions. Perhaps the "metallic" taste wannabaker complained about was due to using foil on the sheets, instead of parchment as instructed. Easy cookies, very rich flavour, and they looked pretty. This was the first time I was asked for a cookie recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpine, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Super easy, yes, but anybody up for pepper flavored cookies!? Not here. Must be an acquired taste. Wish I had read wannabebaker before I started. WAY too much cardamon in recipe. Can't imagine why the rose water is so important. I did take advice and turned down the oven and cooked less time that instructed. Parchment worked great. I always bake with it anyways. I even put giant dollops of high quality chocolate on them and still nobody would eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
These were quite tasty. I really can't say anything on the authenticity of them, but they were light and slightly crisp. Good flavor and they grow a good amount while baking (don't put these on the bottom rack though!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
These were very easy to make, and I used nonstick spray on foil and they did not stick. However, they had a really metallic flavor. I think there may be way too much cardamom, or perhaps I needed to use a better quality rose water. Not sure. I will try this again because I like the idea of the cookie and they have a nice crispy texture, but maybe I will use way less cardamom, leave out the rose water or replace the cardamom with cinnamom or the like. Bakers, definitely stick to teaspoon sized balls when making them, they spread big time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I made a colassal mess of my kitchen. This recipe looked so simple and good. Cookie bakers, heed my experience... I ground too many walnuts, so I added extra liquids - I must have added too much because when I took my cookies out of the oven there was one big cookie burnt on to my pan. So after playing with it a bit I found: heat the oven to 300 degrees; add extra nuts, at least 1/2 a cup and no extra liquids. You MUST line the pan with partchment or at least tin-foil! - I thought I could get away with just greasing the pan as with so many other recipies. And finaly cook for only 15 to 18 minutes. Whew! Pretty good cookie after I cleaned up the mess and corrected my mistakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Yummy! And SUPER easy to slap together - I mixed it all up in under a minute. Wear latex gloves while rolling the balls, as the mixture can be a tad sticky. I tried them with both walnuts and almonds... the walnut ones were richer and chewier, while the almond ones turned out crunchier and a bit lighter. I prefer the walnut version. They were baking in the oven when my husband came home, and he commented that they made the house smell heavenly. This will definitely be a staple for when I have guests - they're so fancy and gourmet-tasting, with so little effort on my part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States