The Real Reuben Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I made this more like a grilled cheese by buttering the bread and pan-frying it. I also used pastrami. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
A great easy sandwich. As did others, I toasted the bread, then put buttered-side down on tray. Warmed cold ingredients in microwave. My kids have now discovered they like Reubens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
You are really missing out on a great recipe if you don't try Pam Anderson's Classic Reuben Sandwich. You really need to use a skillet to get everything heated just right. The ingredients are similar but the cooking techinique makes a HUGE difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Al, you have a real WINNER here! I love reubens, and this baby is a REAL reuben. Just the way God intended it to be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Perfect. Make sure you get good quality rye bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This was a great recipe. I followed chefsingledad's suggestion on how to assemble it. Only disappointing thing was the kraut and meat was cool, while the bread and cheese were hot from broiling. Next time I will microwave th kraut and meat first to be sure the whole sandwich is nice and hot. Thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
Sooooooooo yummy! I used Russian dressing intead of thousand island. It was so good that I'm going to make it again tomorrow so my boyfriend can experience the yumminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocean Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
Good sandwich, quick and easy to make. Followed some of the suggestions. Lightly toasted the bread then buttered it before putting it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mannington, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
It's a great recipe, but I can't give it 5 stars, because Russian dressing beats the thousand island variety hands down, especially when it comes to this amazing sandwich. Oh yes, and the bread? BUTTERED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
Oh my gosh, this is soooo good! One of my absolute favorite sandwiches! That being said, here is my method for making "grilled" sandwiches- toast the bread in the toaster, assemble the sandwich, place it on a plate in the microwave for 1 minute (or less). You get the toasted texture and melted cheese without frying it in butter. This also works for grilled cheese, tuna melts, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States