The Real Reuben Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
I am laughing reading these reviews, watching the pains everyone's taking to assemble it right! Hehe. Anyway, my "build" idea is this (seems complicated, but it's not). Heat the empty tray under the broiler. Meanwhile, LIGHTLY toast the bread -- you just want it dried out, not actually toasted. Butter the sides of the bread that will face down. On one slice, stack corned beef, sauerkraut and cheese on top; on the OTHER slide, stack beef, cheese, then kraut on top. Take the baking sheet out, place the two stacked halves next to eachother, and broil. When done, slide them off with a spatula, top with dressing, and combine. Now you have altnerating layers of heaven, and the bread should be buttery, crunchy, not burnt, and not soggy. GREAT recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Great recipe! The dark rye is oh-so-essential, but it's tough to gauge the degree of browning. Keep an eye on this fellow in the pan ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
I love reubens and this recipe is especially delicious. But I never really cared for the traditional corned beef, (deli, baked, or boiled) - too tough. So I bought a fresh slab from the meat dept., threw it in the crock pot with some water and the seasoning packet and cooked it on low for about 8 or 9 hours. EXCELLENT!! This made great sandwiches. I will never eat corned beef or reubens any other way. I too buttered the bread and made the sandwich like I would a grilled cheese, in a pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
This indeed is the real thing! I too spread a little butter on each slice (so that the bread would be "toasted") and used a larger baking sheet that could hold 6 ruebens and flipped after 2 minutes to evenly broil both sides. Also, I used deli-sliced swiss and when they were done, I re-opened the sandwiches carefully to add the thousand island dressing on the sandwich. Corned beef is not my favorite meat...but who can pass up a sandwich this good? Thanks Al!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
Sensational! I used lighter colored Rye bread due to preference. I buttered the top of the bread (so the bread doesn't fall apart) and broiled them until lightly crispy and then assembled the sandwich and warmed. You have to be really quick or the bottom piece of bread will get soggy. It's best to make an extra sandwich rather than piling it high. I use to cook my sandwich on a skillet but this is a lot quicker and much tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
Excellent and easy. Thanks Al
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
This one will be perfect if replacing thousand island dressing with Russian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
Unbelievably quick, easy and SOOO #(*$&^ good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
Al, thank you, thank you, thank you! Rubens are my favorite but I was never able to do them right at home. I always fried them but my cheese didn't melt and my sauerkraut was cold. Broiling is definately the trick. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
My boyfriend loved this recipe. It was great. I would suggest any Ruben lover to try it. Very easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States