The Real Mojito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Good recipe as is. If I'm going to make several of these, I will make a simple syrup (1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup water, simmered for a few minutes and cooled) and use a few tablespoons of that instead of the sugar. This helps to ensure that the sugar is fully dissolved into the drink. Adds another step, but worth it for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1770 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This is my favorite cocktail ever!! I tend to use more mint-and lime- alot more-- also we like turbinado sugar (Sugar in the Raw)instead of white- it has a bit of a brown sugar edge to it that mixes great with the lime. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mayorchooch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Picked some mint from my neighbors yard and mashed it in a bowl with an ice cream scoop. Used the simple syrup technique. The only problem was I didn't make enough (and I increased the recipe to 6 servings!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Why submit a recipe when AllRecipes screws it all up. Check my review for the original recipe. Leave my recipe as is or don't post it at all!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
350 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I've been making this recipe for a while now, but have found a low-carb version for all my "atkins-type" friends. I simply substitute splenda and diet sprite for the sugar and soda--not sure if you can make simple syrup w/splenda, but I don't see why not...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Shoger Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Harrogate, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This is great! I adusted the recipe to make 4 in one pitcher and it turned out great. Everyone loved them. Can't wait to make more. I did use a simple syrup insted of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
The best drink ever! This recipe is simple and classic without any tricks srewing it up. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Excellant, highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
this drink was big hit! refreshing and easy to make. i did use simple syrup instead of regular sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Right on. I have mint growing wild in my yard so it's always available. I like how this recipe calls for sugar that you mix in when preparing the drink. I know some will argue simple sugar is a better way to go, but I thought the results were identical. When I made this, I didn't have club soda so I used carbonated spring water and it was a little less tart. I'm going to keep making it with carbonated water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Real Mojito

Make a delicious, refreshing mojito from scratch. Enjoy!

Fresh Raspberry Mojito

A refreshing mojito with rum, raspberry vodka, fresh berries, and mint.

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States