The Real Mojito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Good recipe as is. If I'm going to make several of these, I will make a simple syrup (1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup water, simmered for a few minutes and cooled) and use a few tablespoons of that instead of the sugar. This helps to ensure that the sugar is fully dissolved into the drink. Adds another step, but worth it for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1736 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This recipe is almost the same as the one we use at my bar. We use simple syrup (equal parts sugar in the raw and water, boiled down) instead of granulated sugar because it mixes with more ease. We also just muddle one half of a lime with the mint (exactly 11 leaves), add ice, measure your rum (we use 2 ounces) and simple syrup, then shake that bad boy to death. Pour into a glass, and top with a splash of soda water. These are crazy popular at my bar. We also garnish these with a stick of sugar cane, but that is strictly for aesthetics. Annoying to make, but so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1503 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I took advice of others here and made the syrup from 1 part sugar 1 part water but threw about 10 mint leaves and half a lime into the pot and let it simmer for about 20 minutes. I now have a fantastic mojito syrup. I made enough to can a batch for future use. My Cuban husband loves to serve Cuban food to our guests and now I can make the mood complete with mojitos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1095 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Why submit a recipe when AllRecipes screws it all up. Check my review for the original recipe. Leave my recipe as is or don't post it at all!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
332 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I've been making this recipe for a while now, but have found a low-carb version for all my "atkins-type" friends. I simply substitute splenda and diet sprite for the sugar and soda--not sure if you can make simple syrup w/splenda, but I don't see why not...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Harrogate, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Awesome! If you dont have a motar and pestal, smash the leaves on a plate with the sugar. Then pour all the leaves and sugar into the glass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This is a real mojito drink like at the bar.Making the simple syrup is a must don't subsitute any of the ingredients. I made this for some people who don't drink mixed drinks and know they always request this when we have a gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This is my favorite cocktail ever!! I tend to use more mint-and lime- alot more-- also we like turbinado sugar (Sugar in the Raw)instead of white- it has a bit of a brown sugar edge to it that mixes great with the lime. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mayorchooch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Good guidelines, but this tastes better with a few changes. I used simple syrup and added mint and lime to taste (a little extra). Also, a little more run and less soda ;)Overall, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Picked some mint from my neighbors yard and mashed it in a bowl with an ice cream scoop. Used the simple syrup technique. The only problem was I didn't make enough (and I increased the recipe to 6 servings!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Real Mojito

Make a delicious, refreshing mojito from scratch. Enjoy!

Fresh Raspberry Mojito

A refreshing mojito with rum, raspberry vodka, fresh berries, and mint.

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States