The Real Mojito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Excellent recipe as is. I didn't bother with the simple syrup - why make it harder on yourself when regular sugar works perfectly?? I just wanted a quick and easy recipe, and this was exactly that, plus it's delicious! It's just like any mojito I've had in bars, so I'm going to stick with this recipe (with the granulated sugar). One evening, I had Malibu coconut rum in the house, so I used that - serendipity! SOOO yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
DELICIOUS! Light, refreshing and a perfect blend of tart and sweet. After reading a considerable amount of reviews and the suggestions given in another review by the author, Brandy, I believe the key to getting this drink perfect is to be sure to use SUPERFINE SUGAR. I was going to try both simple syrup and the sugar to see which one worked best, but I decided at the store while picking up the mint leaves to check and see if they had the superfine sugar. They did and I bought it. This is definitely the key to adding the sugar easily. I used a mortar and pestle to muddle the ingredients and the superfine sugar just melted into the lime juice beautifully and completely with zero effort. The full dissolving of the sugar meant that it was going to mix into the drink evenly and give the proper amount of sweetness in every sip. I'll continue to use the superfine sugar because it's so easy and quick. I also splurged on a beautiful bottle of white rum called Oronoco and I believe that also made a big difference. My finished drink was smooth, perfectly sweet and tart and beautiful to look at. And I'm sure it's easy to overdo it - this cocktail went down way too easily!I used a swizzle stick and stirred it every now and then to keep mixing the flavors as I sipped it. I felt like I was on vacation. This is going to be my new special summer drink and I'm going to make another one this afternoon since it's so hot outside! Thank you, Brandy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I absolutely loved this recipe! We made it in a blender since we were making multiple drinks. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
The recipe ingredients call for club soda, yet the instructions say to fill the glass with "carbonated water." Club soda and carbonated water are two very different things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Good, but a few tweaks make a better mojito. First, stay away from the simple sugar as the most helpful comment suggests. I have tried it and liken it to lemonade made in the same manner(I hate it!). I like having some undissolved sugar in my drink. I use a citrus reamer to juice half a lime and crush it into the the mint leaves. If I'm being lazy I use enough bottled Key West lime juice to dampen the 2TBS sugar. Also try using SPRITE (or even ginger ale) instead of club soda. MOST IMPORTANTLY MIX EVERYTHING BEFORE ADDING THE CLUB SODA/SPRITE. Then add your carbonation and give the drink a quick swirl or two. Unless you must know exactly how much alcohol you are consuming dont bother measuring out the rum. After filling my glass near to the top with ice, I simply pour the glass about 2/3-3/4 of the way full of rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I like to use 151 proof Bacardi, and gold rum. I use a few drops of mint extract and a short squirt of agave nectar. Splendid!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cemab4y

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Just like the real thing I had in San Juan. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This is a pretty good recipe for a single drink but if I were going to make a full pitcher of mojitos, I'd make a mint-infused simple syrup instead of using granulated sugar. Granulated sugar just doesn't dissolve very well. I have plenty of spearmint in my back yard and this is a perfect treat after an afternoon of working on the pool and in the back yard. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Not bad, but I would start with half the sugar or even less and then add more to taste. I like to be able to taste the alcohol and fresh mint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Very easy to follow and the taste is perfect!!! Thanks for the share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Real Mojito

Make a delicious, refreshing mojito from scratch. Enjoy!

Fresh Raspberry Mojito

A refreshing mojito with rum, raspberry vodka, fresh berries, and mint.

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States