The Real Mojito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I made this drink following the recipe and I wasn't crazy about it. I've made it a couple of times using simple syrup and it tastes delicious! The sugar just doesn't dissolve and it leaves the drunk tasting really strong and the alcohol overpowers the drink. I made the simple syrup using one cup water and one cup sugar. I also add mango or strawberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Hubby and I had these years ago down in Key West where Hemingway was said to have consumed these in mass quantities. I like to put a bit of sugar in the glass (tall pint type) with the mint leaves as it helps to pull the oil out of the mint when muddling. I then add mint simple syrup to taste. (easy to make, just add mint to the syrup at the end of your cooking time and let steep for 15 minutes) Also you can use plain water or seltzer or sprite or whatever tickles your palate. These are dangerous and super yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABRIELLAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I think the recipe is great but keep in mind that not all varieties of mint work well. The original recipe (that is, the one served in CUBA) calls for Yerba Buena, which is completely different from other species.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Excellent! Best recipe I've found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
YUMMY! The only change I made was to use simple syrup instead of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Made these exactly as directed, using sugar and not simple syrup. An authentic, refreshing and beautiful drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeeSweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
My girlfriend and I love the recipe as is. We tried the simple syrup idea and found that the flavor wasn't as fresh. No need to tamper with this recipe if you know what you're doing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Awesome recipe! THanks for sharing, Brandy! We were sure to use simple syrup and it was perfect. The key is to be sure to muddle very well to get all the flavors released. Just like what I order at a bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
It's worth it to make the simple syrup! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aryteu
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Basically the same as how I make mine except that I use about 1 1/2 teaspoon white sugar and I use 7UP instead of club soda. I like the idea of using simple syrup... I think I might try that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

The Real Mojito

Make a delicious, refreshing mojito from scratch. Enjoy!

Fresh Raspberry Mojito

A refreshing mojito with rum, raspberry vodka, fresh berries, and mint.

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States