The Real Mojito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I make this regularly in the summer. It's a great hit with friends. Very simple to make. Only a few ingredients so make sure you use good rum, fresh mint and ripe limes. Simple syrup works better than sugar. Overall, great mojito recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Excellent flavor! I have been making these for a while now, and waited until I had fresh cut mint to use (instead of extracts, packaged leaves, etc) in order to give it a proper review. As with a lot of recipes, fresh ingredients make all the difference, and in this case take the drink from good to great! The only thing I insisted on doing different was to use simple syrup instead of sugar, to make sure it dissolved/blended well. Proper muddling is also key to bringing out the oils of the mint leaves (found that one out the hard way). Thanks for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Good recipe, but I take it a step further. No mint? No problem, try using basil leaves. Want to bring down the calories? Try agave syrup. I use a shaker for this so the agave syrup mixes in. I personally prefer to use a shaker anyway. I put about 4-6 large whole basil leaves and juice of one lime in a shaker and muddle. Then added agave syrup to taste and vodka, along with ice. Shake well. Strain into tall glasses filled with ice. I add a splash of mineral water and garnish with a basil leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I made this drink following the recipe and I wasn't crazy about it. I've made it a couple of times using simple syrup and it tastes delicious! The sugar just doesn't dissolve and it leaves the drunk tasting really strong and the alcohol overpowers the drink. I made the simple syrup using one cup water and one cup sugar. I also add mango or strawberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Hubby and I had these years ago down in Key West where Hemingway was said to have consumed these in mass quantities. I like to put a bit of sugar in the glass (tall pint type) with the mint leaves as it helps to pull the oil out of the mint when muddling. I then add mint simple syrup to taste. (easy to make, just add mint to the syrup at the end of your cooking time and let steep for 15 minutes) Also you can use plain water or seltzer or sprite or whatever tickles your palate. These are dangerous and super yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABRIELLAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I think the recipe is great but keep in mind that not all varieties of mint work well. The original recipe (that is, the one served in CUBA) calls for Yerba Buena, which is completely different from other species.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Excellent! Best recipe I've found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
YUMMY! The only change I made was to use simple syrup instead of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Made these exactly as directed, using sugar and not simple syrup. An authentic, refreshing and beautiful drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeeSweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
My girlfriend and I love the recipe as is. We tried the simple syrup idea and found that the flavor wasn't as fresh. No need to tamper with this recipe if you know what you're doing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Real Mojito

Make a delicious, refreshing mojito from scratch. Enjoy!

Fresh Raspberry Mojito

A refreshing mojito with rum, raspberry vodka, fresh berries, and mint.

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States