The Real Deal Korean Beef Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I make this recipe often & every time it has a wonderful taste! My father-in-law asked me to send him the recipe, it's that good. The only change I made was, like other reviewers, is substitute the asian plum wine for red wine vinegar. Love this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Bennett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I followed the recipe with the following exceptions: omitted the plum wine, marinated 5 hours, and cooked 6 hours in the crock pot and then broiled the ribs for 3 minutes. The ribs were OUTSTANDING. The taste and texture were beyond my expectations and I highly recommend the recipe. You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
We like ribs a lot at our house, and prefer marinades to rubs, so I decided to try this recipe. It was a hit and very tasty. Sweet with a kick. Didn't have the plum wine so I used red wine instead. My one suggestion would be to back off the black pepper by half, using just one tablespoon. It overwhelmed the flavor of the marinade and meat just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This was very rich. I actually liked it better cold the next day. I probably won"t make this again unless somebody requests it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cary Odell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Good, I cooked in oven at 300 for 2 hours, then added sauce and cook for 25 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Terrific. They looked beautiful, shiny brown and plump----and the bones are very Fred Flintsone-esque. Everybody loved them, especially my teenage son. Some of us liked a bit of dipping sauce on the side (a mixture of hoisin sauce and hot taco sauce worked well). But I thought they were great, served plain. Very easy...if you can wait a day. I didn't have plum wine---so substituted sweet white wine. I cut the sugar in half....and added maybe a 1/3 teaspoon of curry powder (an idea I stole of another beef rib recipe). I would have like a tad more heat (maybe a teaspoon of cayenne in the marinade), but my family thought the black pepperiness was just fine. I cooked them on a medium hot grill with the cover down (about 6 minutes per side). Some burned, so I'll need to pay closer attention next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Didn't do the plum sauce b/c I was pretty sure my husband wouldn't like it and didn't know if I would either so I just put in some red wine vinegar. We had one of my daughter's friends over who has a korean grandmother and she said they tasted just like her grandmother's ribs that she makes for her without the plum sauce (b/c she doesn't like it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE5014

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I was aprehensive at first with the 2 T of black pepper so I cut the black pepper in half. I didn't use the Korean style ribs, but rather used the American full bone short ribs. I think using the American version doesn't allow for as short cooking time on the grill. Mine came out a bit tough (reason for a 4 star), therefore I placed them in the oven for a couple of hours at low temp approximately 300-325 degrees for 2 hours w/ marinade in a tightly covered casserole dish. They came out NICE. If baking with marinade, definately use half of the black pepper. If grilling you can follow the amount of pepper as recipe states. Will make again following the oven low temp oven method instead. Next time, I will bake at 250 for even better tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FANTASKMANJAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Very, very tasty. We all loved this. Nice change from pork ribs. Did not have plum wine but did have plum sauce so substituted that to get the plum flavor. Turned out great! These are often on sale too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debi210

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Fantastic! I made these for a party and everyone went crazy over them. I should have made more. The only change I made was that I only had about 8 hours to marinade them and I added about 1-1/2 Tbsp of red pepper flakes, but this is so tasty I wouldn't miss it if I had left that out. Next time I'll do the whole 24 hours and I'll double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Venice, California, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States