The Real Chicago Deep Dish Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Yup. This is killer Chicago deep dish pizza dough. Oofa... so full right now. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vince Nowicki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Mine ended up in the garbage. I'm pretty sure I was too ambitious with the toppings, but the crust burned up and fused itself to the pan before the pizza was done. I let it set up for a while but it was impossible to cut and remove from the pan. I ended up with almost a soup with bread chunks in it trying to lift a slice. I'll give it another shot someday but it's McDonald's for me again tonight... Ugh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mlort098
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
great crust! followed the recipe to a T. Did not pre-cook the crust and it turned out great after 30 minutes at 450. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Great pizza! My kids loved it so much that they now ask for it every friday..... Thak you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Foronda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
HELP! (star rating is here only because I had to put one) I followed the recipe to the T with the exception of using bread flour instead of AP and olive oil instead of corn. When I went to mix all together, it was just a soupy mess. It never formed a ball. I eventually became frustrated and just added a bunch more flour until it became something that resembled a ball. The water was 114 degrees, yeast sat in it with sugar for 9 minutes......I'm lost. Using a different flour and oil type shouldn't result in a bowl of soup instead of a ball should it? It's proofing now so who know's how it will turn out. I looked at Emiral Lagasse's recipe and it was very similar but had it's differences. So why did mine resemble and alien blob instead of a dough ball?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Elder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Made tonight crust light and buttery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I made this today, and the only exception was I used vegetable oil as I didn't have corn oil. And used it as a regular pizza crust not deep dish. Excellent! Buttery, biscuit like. To die for. Also I let it ride for about 4 hours instead of six. My daughter said it was the best pizza she ever had. And that speaks volumes since she's a picky eater. THANK you for sharing! I'll definitely make again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
My husband couldn't stop talking about how good this pizza crust was! I made this recipe as written, but didn't have kosher salt, so I used regular. I let the dough sit for about 4 1/2 hours before punching it down and it turned out just fine. Since I doubled it, I was able to make two full size pizzas (1 circular and 1 square cookie sheet). I buttered the pans and sprinkled cornmeal on them before I pressed the dough in and pre-baked it for 10 minutes without toppings, then 20 more with toppings. So good and filling :) This will be my new go-to pizza crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ponytail Goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I tried this it was my first time making any pizza dough. I have eaten chicago style pizza in chicago so I know what it was supposed to taste like. I followed the directions everything went fine until I tried to put it in the pan to make the pizza, the dough would not stay up the sides of my pan, I had a 8x2 inch cakepan. The dough kept sliding down the the pan sides so I could not get it to the top of the pan sides. So I cooked it for a very longtime it seems, I may not have put enough cheese on the bottom before making the pizza. The crust didn't seem to rise at all in the oven it didn't get puffed sides it sort of just sank and turned dense. I was worried it would not get browned on the bottom after about an hour in the oven I removed it and let it cool a while and cut into it, not very oozy due to not enough cheese, the grease from the italian sausage and pepperoni seemed to soak into the bottom crust too and the crust was golden brown and crispy but too hard almost to hard to cut thru and to eat. The rest of the pizza was pretty good but the crust just didn't turn out like I would have liked or expected, if anyone knows anything I might have done wrong please let me know, I want to keep trying until I can make an excellent deep dish pizza. All the videos I watched making pizzas mine didn't look anything like those. The crust pretty much deflated when I cooked it instead of puffing up more. It rose fine during proofing so I know the yeast was working.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Just what I was looking for and, thanks to the first reviewer, couldn't have been easier than using the breadmaker then dumping the dough into the pan to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States