The Real Chicago Deep Dish Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
This recipe is perfect. The corn oil is essential. It provides a buttery flavor and is authentic to Chicago pizza. (Remember, deep dish comes from corn country — not Italy.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Flavor was good - buttering the rising bowl was a nice touch (too bad butter was not listed as an ingredient). But after six hours the dough was tremendously over-risen making it very difficult to handle - full of bubbles, and the dough kept slipping down the sides as I pressed it into the pan. The end result was more doughy than I'd prefer but tasted good enough. In the Eighties I worked in a pizza joint for a couple of years run by two guys from Chicago. They knew their deep dish pie and taught me what real pizza crust is like. Sorry, but this ain't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This recipe makes absolutely delicious pizza crust! I'm from Chicago, and calling this authentic deep dish is a stretch...not quite authentic. But, it is extremely tasty nonetheless. I always put the dough in the oven with a pot of boiling water for an hour (as suggested by another review), and it rises beautifully. Bake it for 10 minutes on 425. Layer cheese, then toppings (I do a thick layer of pepperoni), and then sauce. Cook for another 20 minutes and YUM! Enjoy! Almost as good as Lou Malnati's, Giordano's, and Gino's...almost! I make pizza once every 1-2 weeks now that I've found this awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Yup. This is killer Chicago deep dish pizza dough. Oofa... so full right now. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vince Nowicki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
But the crust burned up and fused itself to the pan before the pizza was done. I let it set up for a while but it was impossible to cut and remove from the pan. I ended up with almost a soup with bread chunks in it trying to lift a slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
This recipe in not the Unos crust!I have the real recipe,thats right,the real recipe which cannot be disclosed.I would only consider selling to a pizzeria who is interested in making these wonderful chicago style pizzas.But just wanted to let people know not to be fooled by these copycats.They will taste and look all right but if you have had the real Uno's Pizza then you will know that these crusts recipes disappoint.The people who have had my pizza,say that my crust is the real deal and better than Unos,which is a great compliment.Don't mean to brag,just want people to know they wont find the recipe online.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Jackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mlort098
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
great crust! followed the recipe to a T. Did not pre-cook the crust and it turned out great after 30 minutes at 450. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Great pizza! My kids loved it so much that they now ask for it every friday..... Thak you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Foronda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
HELP! (star rating is here only because I had to put one) I followed the recipe to the T with the exception of using bread flour instead of AP and olive oil instead of corn. When I went to mix all together, it was just a soupy mess. It never formed a ball. I eventually became frustrated and just added a bunch more flour until it became something that resembled a ball. The water was 114 degrees, yeast sat in it with sugar for 9 minutes......I'm lost. Using a different flour and oil type shouldn't result in a bowl of soup instead of a ball should it? It's proofing now so who know's how it will turn out. I looked at Emiral Lagasse's recipe and it was very similar but had it's differences. So why did mine resemble and alien blob instead of a dough ball?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Elder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Made tonight crust light and buttery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States