The RIGHT WAY To Cook Greens! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I used this recipe before and I am about to use it again. How simple! I added crumbled bacon and diced onion- wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Thanks, RJ. I never thought to wilt them before and you are entirely correct that the bacon fat really complements the greens.My mustard greens were super-tender and not bitter at all. I used canola and about 5 strips of smoked bacon (not maple). I left about 2.5 strips in the pan for flavoring the liquor. I went ahead with the broth approach and differed substantially enough to make a new recipe (Come check it out!) The green's liquor takes about 2 1/2 hours to really get good. On the other hand, more ready supplied liquor of the other type will allow you to bide your time waiting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mccomb, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I started with two bunches of collard greens, rinsed them and removed the stems, and tore the greens into bite-sized pieces. Next, I rendered a skillet full of sliced salt pork, pulled the semi-cooked pork out and used the renderings to wilt the greens. I placed the rendered pork into a pot with 4 cups of water and brought it to a boil. After the greens cooked down, I added them to the boiling water, covered and simmered on low heat for an hour. I added no more salt and they were perfect! If my southern-raised mother were still alive, she would be impressed! This is easy and fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pleasant Hill, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Thank you! My first greens making experience went well bc of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This is very much like my grandmas recipe without the additions. Meme would add a chopped small onion and 2tbspns. of chopped garlic a tsp of red pepper seasoning and a tbspn of sugar...hmmm Mississippi style!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This is definitely the way to do it. I followed the recipe exactly and made it with Collard Greens. I was feeling my roots so I fixed it with corn casserole and pork chops. My husband and I loved it and my two teenagers who aren't the best veggie eaters both gave it a thumbs up! I was happy to get veggies in them even if I had to do it with bacon grease!! And what doesn't taste good cooked in bacon grease, right?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Tried Collard Greens for the first time and this was fantastic! Huge hit with all the adults at dinner (kids still aren't too sure about anything green!) Added some minced garlic while cooking and then crumbled some bacon on top right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I mix my greens, but I also start them cooking in my skillet at different times! I start off with the greens that take the longest to cook, so DON'T worry about mixing greens just use common sense and start with the greens that take the longest time to cook, adding each green one at a time depending on how long they need to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Great flavor and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catty

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I made this with too much bacon, if there is such a thing. Used high quality maple bacon which I think added a little. First time my non southern boyfriend has had collards, and it will def be a do again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States