The RIGHT WAY To Cook Greens! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Great flavor and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catty

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Delicious! I used Broccoli Rabe tossed into the pan with the bacon drippings, a pinch of salt and hot pepper flakes to taste. Simple and very tastey. The bacon drippings add a level of flavor and depth not achieved by using oil. Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Got a few tips. Don't mix different greens; they have a variety of cooking times. Washing greens is VERY important. I soak for 1 hour in a large stockpot. I pull them from the water, (pour on your plants) and individually rinse each leaf in running water, placing each wet leaf on a large cutting board, facing the same way for easier cutting. In batches, I chop off the tip of the stem (hello, compost pile). Then I chop the stems all up in 1/4" slices and put in the cold skillet, reserving the leaf. I use my largest cast-iron skillet that has a tight fitting lid. Bacon fat is great, or olive oil, but my fave is my own homemade chicken broth. I add 1/2 cup in the bottom of the skillet to stems with 4-5 minced garlic cloves, cover and cook on medium heat while I am chopping up the leaves. (This lets the tougher stems and garlic tenderize a bit and flavor the broth.) I chop up all the wet leaves into bite-sized pieces, toss them in the skillet (be careful, it is hot!) and cover, cook on low heat and set the timer for 10 minutes (because you may need more broth). Depending on your burner, you may need to add more broth to this concoction to keep it moist every 10 minutes. I have eaten them after 10 minutes; I have also waited until the rest of dinner was ready, after an hour (better)! Just keep 'em wet. Serving time... drizzle on Bragg's Amino Acid to kick up a salty flavor, without adding sodium! For high blood pressure, it's the best salt substitute EVER! Thanks rjkuns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Thank you! My first greens making experience went well bc of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I used this recipe before and I am about to use it again. How simple! I added crumbled bacon and diced onion- wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This is definitely the way to do it. I followed the recipe exactly and made it with Collard Greens. I was feeling my roots so I fixed it with corn casserole and pork chops. My husband and I loved it and my two teenagers who aren't the best veggie eaters both gave it a thumbs up! I was happy to get veggies in them even if I had to do it with bacon grease!! And what doesn't taste good cooked in bacon grease, right?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Tried Collard Greens for the first time and this was fantastic! Huge hit with all the adults at dinner (kids still aren't too sure about anything green!) Added some minced garlic while cooking and then crumbled some bacon on top right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I made this with too much bacon, if there is such a thing. Used high quality maple bacon which I think added a little. First time my non southern boyfriend has had collards, and it will def be a do again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Thanks, RJ. I never thought to wilt them before and you are entirely correct that the bacon fat really complements the greens.My mustard greens were super-tender and not bitter at all. I used canola and about 5 strips of smoked bacon (not maple). I left about 2.5 strips in the pan for flavoring the liquor. I went ahead with the broth approach and differed substantially enough to make a new recipe (Come check it out!) The green's liquor takes about 2 1/2 hours to really get good. On the other hand, more ready supplied liquor of the other type will allow you to bide your time waiting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mccomb, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This is very much like my grandmas recipe without the additions. Meme would add a chopped small onion and 2tbspns. of chopped garlic a tsp of red pepper seasoning and a tbspn of sugar...hmmm Mississippi style!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States