The Perfect Mai Tai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This is good stuff. I made it for my dad's retirement party that was jimmy buffett themed & i think even jimmy would agree it was delicious! wouldn't change a thing.. ps to below asking was simple syrup is: Simple syrup, or sugar syrup, is very easy to make and is used in many cocktails such as Jell-O Shots, Daiquiris and Hurricanes to add volume and sweetness. With this recipe you can make as small or as large a batch as you wish and store it in the refrigerator in a well sealed bottle indefinitely. Ingredients: 2 parts sugar 1 part water Preparation: Bring the water to a boil. Dissolve the sugar into the boiling water. Once the sugar is dissolved completely, remove the pan from the heat. Allow to cool completely and bottle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
I sure hope more than 4 people have tried this recipe for the perfect mai tai, because that's exactly what it is, simply PERFECT. This is absolutely a crowd pleaser...I mean no one walks away after having made this for them without begging and pleading for this recipe and amazing their friends with it too. Try it, I promise you'll like it. No substitutions needed. This one by far is my absolute favorite mixed drink home or at restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Amazing find. Alcohol is well hidden in amazing combination that creates a bright, smooth drink. To keep things sweet, I used a combination of regular limes and key limes for the juice - just juiced 5 regular limes, then over a dozen key limes to get an equal amount of juice. For the orange liqueur, I used about 3 shots of Grand Marnier, then filled up the rest of the cup with cheap BOLS triple sec. For the OJ, I used store-bought "not from concentrate" orange juice to save time. The almond syrup really added a unique twist taste, and should not be missed. Also, to save money and make sure it was not too strong, I followed the suggestions of others and replaced the 151 proof rum with a combo of the light and dark. Tasted amazing the first day, lost a bit of it's bright, fruity taste the next day; so I'd suggest you avoid storing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
Equal out the portions of Light & Dark rums - drop the 151 rum (unless you're going to 'float' it) and lose the orange juice - they you have a REAL Mai Tai! By the way, the Almond syrup is Orgeat and is available from many sources online.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
ooohh be careful with this one! Mai Tais are the one drink that really creep up on you. I served 2 pitchers at a 4th of July grill and everyone was silly drunk. Per other peoples suggestions, I used half the syrups, and eliminated the 151 rum. Really not necessary. I also added a little pineapple juice. They were really sweet drinks, but rum had a real strong punch. The sweetness wasnt too sweet, and perfectly masked the booze, so we drank these things like water and next thing you know... well it was a great party. Also: dont ever bother buying the pre made bottles of simple syrup. All it consists of is equal parts sugar and water. Boil 1 cup water then add 1 cup sugar. I love this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Made a batch of these this weekend and loved them. I used Cointreau in place of the curacao. You can find Orgeat syrup (almond)at most coffee houses ie; Zaks or cowboy coffee. It is made by Torani. And for the lady who thought it was a lot of work squeezing all those limes, just replace it with lime cordial (its about an 1/8 of a cup per lime. With all these ingredients you can't tell the difference at all. We drink it with different blends of juices, pineapple, mango, orange ect. they all taste really good. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINALLLL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This was a HUGE hit at my reception. There was not one drop left. As others have stated I omitted the 151 and used 2 cups light and 2 cups dark rum, Triple sec for the orange curacao, Ameretto, lime cordial, simple syrup, and bottled orange juice. Mixed all in a punch bowl and chilled for a few hours. Definitely a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This was a very nice cocktail and so festive looking; looks are deceiving though--it will kick your butt if you're not paying attention to how much you're consuming! As others, I did not use the 151 proof, and just divided equally between the dark and light rum. One cup of the almond flavored syrup was overpowering; next time I will cut back to 1/2 cup, sample the drink, and then increase the amount if needed. Same goes for the simple syrup. (I think I just have sour tastebuds.) We will be enjoying again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
how long do you think this would keep in the fridge?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROZENHAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I actually give it 4 1/2 starts. These were tasty but yes, they are strong! And I didn't even use the 151 because I was out. Instead I took the advise of other reviewers and just used an extra 1/2 cup each the light and dark rums. To the reviewer that said this is not a 'real' Mai Tai', actually it is. Or at least it's close. The Mai Tai was originally invented by Victor Bergeron of Trader Vic's and consisted of rum, orgeat (almond syrup), orange curacao, fresh lime and rock candy syrup (simple syrup). The difference with this recipe is the orange juice. Although I personally like the fruity Hawaiian versions with pineapple juice better, this recipe is closer to the real thing then they are. For a twist, next time I might try using 4 cups of OJ and 4 cups pineapple juice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mai Tai Cocktail

See how to make the original Tahiti Mai Tai.

Blue Hawaiian Cocktail

See how to make a classic tiki cocktail with rum and blue curacao.

Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake

Stout and Irish cream liqueur flavor this dense chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States