The Perfect Mai Tai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I made this for New Years Eve, wow!! what a hit. I did not use the 151 rum, and I added some pineapple juice. It is fantastic!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Awesome! We used ameretto instead of almond syrup and it was great. This recipe was the perfect start for our party drinks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
What a great cocktail to serve to a crowd. I made this for a Mardi Gras themed dinner night while on vacation and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Very very smooth, but also very strong. I scaled this down for myself. I had to add some more juice to mine, it was just too strong for me. I skipped the 151 as I thought it would be a little overkill, but I added a big splash of Grand Marnier to compensate. I'm not sure what was meant by almond syrup, so I used Amaretto almond liquor. I used grenadine for simple syrup. Looked beautiful in the glass, nice color, all I was missing was the little umbrella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I did what most did with equal light and dark rum and dropped the 151. Beware! It is strong but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Velgos

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I made this for a party over Memorial Weekend and it was a hit!! I could only find Blue Curacao, which made it green, but it still tasted great! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yankton, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
AWESOME!!!!!! The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
THIS WAS GREAT!! I USED 2 CUPS LIGHT AND 2 CUPS DARK RUM INSTEAD OF THE 151. PUT A SPLASH OF GRENADINE AND SERVED OVER ICE. THIS WAS THE BIG HIT AT MY PARTY. ITS SOME WORK TO HAND SQUEEZE ALL OF THE LIMES BUT WORTH IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
We gave my parents a Hawaii party for their 50th wedding anniversary. I made this recipe and it was a hit. My mother loved it. I had to make another gallon for her to take home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Varnell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatsworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I never review recipes but I had to rate this one because it is OUTSTANDING!!! I used Myers for the dark rum and left out the 151 and it was delicious. I also substited Looza brand tropical juice for the orange juice. Tasted just like we had in Hawaii.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mai Tai Cocktail

See how to make the original Tahiti Mai Tai.

Blue Hawaiian Cocktail

See how to make a classic tiki cocktail with rum and blue curacao.

Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake

Stout and Irish cream liqueur flavor this dense chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States