The Perfect Mai Tai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Yummy!!! We made this for a party and it went very quickly. We also left off the 150 rum and used Ameretto liqueur instead of flavored syrup. I Then replaced about 2 cups of orange juice with PINEAPPLE JUICE to give it a more authentic Hawaiian taste. I FLOATED LIVE ORCHIDS on the punch for a festive look and served it in glasses with pineapple and cherries on orchid topped spears, a fruitier twist on the typical umbrella. We made the punch in the morning so the flavors could blend. It does NOT keep well for more than 1 day. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Go GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
WAY too strong. My second pitcher I used half the liquor it called for and it was a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This was way too sweet for my tastes. I reduced the amount of simple syrup; used Frangelico in place of the almond syrup (that's all I had) and added some mango juice to the orange juice. It was nice but just too sweet for my tastebuds. I'd serve it at Bunco but I'd prefer something lighter. Thanks for the post and for expanding my taste palate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This was a very nice cocktail and so festive looking; looks are deceiving though--it will kick your butt if you're not paying attention to how much you're consuming! As others, I did not use the 151 proof, and just divided equally between the dark and light rum. One cup of the almond flavored syrup was overpowering; next time I will cut back to 1/2 cup, sample the drink, and then increase the amount if needed. Same goes for the simple syrup. (I think I just have sour tastebuds.) We will be enjoying again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
We made these for our "Luau" dinner party last night and LOVED them! In fact, I'm going to the grocery store to get the fixin's for another batch tonight. My husband accidentally put 3 cups of light rum in and only 1 of dark rum and they still turned out well...they just didn't have that standard Mai Tai color. We also used bottled lime juice. These were strong enough to get the party started, but didn't taste like pure liquor. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
First had this drink in Vegas. I watched the bartender make it but after having a couple forgot the recipe. After lots of searching I found it again and it is just as good as I remember. Everyone always begs me to make these for them. A great drink but they can sneak up on you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Russ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This was a HUGE hit at my reception. There was not one drop left. As others have stated I omitted the 151 and used 2 cups light and 2 cups dark rum, Triple sec for the orange curacao, Ameretto, lime cordial, simple syrup, and bottled orange juice. Mixed all in a punch bowl and chilled for a few hours. Definitely a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Amazing find. Alcohol is well hidden in amazing combination that creates a bright, smooth drink. To keep things sweet, I used a combination of regular limes and key limes for the juice - just juiced 5 regular limes, then over a dozen key limes to get an equal amount of juice. For the orange liqueur, I used about 3 shots of Grand Marnier, then filled up the rest of the cup with cheap BOLS triple sec. For the OJ, I used store-bought "not from concentrate" orange juice to save time. The almond syrup really added a unique twist taste, and should not be missed. Also, to save money and make sure it was not too strong, I followed the suggestions of others and replaced the 151 proof rum with a combo of the light and dark. Tasted amazing the first day, lost a bit of it's bright, fruity taste the next day; so I'd suggest you avoid storing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Made a batch of these this weekend and loved them. I used Cointreau in place of the curacao. You can find Orgeat syrup (almond)at most coffee houses ie; Zaks or cowboy coffee. It is made by Torani. And for the lady who thought it was a lot of work squeezing all those limes, just replace it with lime cordial (its about an 1/8 of a cup per lime. With all these ingredients you can't tell the difference at all. We drink it with different blends of juices, pineapple, mango, orange ect. they all taste really good. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINALLLL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I used equal parts light and dark rum and left out the 151. Still very powerful. I made this for my husband's fortieth (along with the beergaritas posted on this site) and didn't have a drop left of a quadrupled batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mai Tai Cocktail

See how to make the original Tahiti Mai Tai.

Blue Hawaiian Cocktail

See how to make a classic tiki cocktail with rum and blue curacao.

Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake

Stout and Irish cream liqueur flavor this dense chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States