The Perfect Mai Tai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Also makes a nice drink omitting the OJ and using just Simply Limeade. 151 is entirely for kick, and does not seem necessary for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PimpernelSmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This is good stuff. I made it for my dad's retirement party that was jimmy buffett themed & i think even jimmy would agree it was delicious! wouldn't change a thing.. ps to below asking was simple syrup is: Simple syrup, or sugar syrup, is very easy to make and is used in many cocktails such as Jell-O Shots, Daiquiris and Hurricanes to add volume and sweetness. With this recipe you can make as small or as large a batch as you wish and store it in the refrigerator in a well sealed bottle indefinitely. Ingredients: 2 parts sugar 1 part water Preparation: Bring the water to a boil. Dissolve the sugar into the boiling water. Once the sugar is dissolved completely, remove the pan from the heat. Allow to cool completely and bottle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I was not as thrilled with this as I thought I would be from all the reviews. It had too strong of a liquor taste. I elimintated the 151 rum and substituted with light and dark rum to equal 1 cup of the 151. Maybe I should have just left out 1 cup of alcohol all together. I froze what was left over for slushes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montpelier, Ohio, USA
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Do not use Spiced Rum. Watch out that the almond syrup is the right stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
very good -- I cut the recipe down to make less for only 2 of us. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushmore, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This was my first time ever making Mai Tai's and this recipe is great. I made 3 double batches for my Luau and everyone loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muscatine, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
ooohh be careful with this one! Mai Tais are the one drink that really creep up on you. I served 2 pitchers at a 4th of July grill and everyone was silly drunk. Per other peoples suggestions, I used half the syrups, and eliminated the 151 rum. Really not necessary. I also added a little pineapple juice. They were really sweet drinks, but rum had a real strong punch. The sweetness wasnt too sweet, and perfectly masked the booze, so we drank these things like water and next thing you know... well it was a great party. Also: dont ever bother buying the pre made bottles of simple syrup. All it consists of is equal parts sugar and water. Boil 1 cup water then add 1 cup sugar. I love this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Way too much orange juice. I cut it literally in half, if not more. The grenadine is a nice touch with just a pinch drizzle of it. Where can you find the almond syrup and simple syrup?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Haven, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This was THE BEST Mai Tai I've ever had! We made a couple sun tea jars full for a luau and people are still talkin about it a year later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Orzata syrup is more readily available in Italian Pork and Specialty stores and avoids the expense of buying Orgeat Syrup on line. I believe that Orzata is the original almond syrup used by Trader Vic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mai Tai Cocktail

See how to make the original Tahiti Mai Tai.

Blue Hawaiian Cocktail

See how to make a classic tiki cocktail with rum and blue curacao.

Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake

Stout and Irish cream liqueur flavor this dense chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States