The Perfect Mai Tai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Excellent. Watch out, this will knock you on your butt if you're not careful. I didn't use the 151 rum. i triple sec in place of curacao and 1/2 cup of ameretto in place of the almond flavored syrup. i added some pineapple juice. i had some extra left and it kept well in the fridge for a few weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
A decent drink but not a Mai Tai. I was suspicious at half a gallon of orange juice, but it was still very drinkable. Just not what it's advertised as.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I made this over the weekend to RAVE reviews---followed the recipe (almost) exactly. I had thought about leaving the 151 out but after taste tests we all decided it needed the extra oompf! Really super yummy. I buy the Orgeat at my local liquor store and, my one change, used Dole Orange Pineapple juice as a Mai Tai does really need that pineapple flavor for me. juicing the 10 limes resulted in about 1 and1/4 cups lime juice--but I have an electric citrus juicer which makes this much easier---might try Nellies Key lime juice in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABRIELLAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Very refreshing and potent - yet smooth and fruity! Guaranteed good time! I couldn't find the almond syrup, so I sub'd one cup of amoretta and added one cup of simple syrup. 1 squeezed lime = 2 tbsp juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
needs pineapple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inthekitch801

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
All I can say is... BAM! This hits hard and is always a party pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
htis is one great drink! the almond syrup really adds a nice flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
It may taste good, but it's not a Mai Tai. Mai tais are Hawaiian drinks, and they feature pineapple juice. Without pineapple, you can't even begin to call it a mai tai. It is absolutely essential. I notice that the recipe does include almond (orgeat) syrup, which is a plus because it does belong in a mai tai and most recipes exclude it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Holy Batman and Robin. I can hardly type. I never try mixed drinks on the rare occasions when I go out. They're usually bitter, lukewarm and altogether unpleasant. In the past month, though, I've tried to make some of my own. This site has a great recipe for beer margarits and another for mojitos. This one, though, takes the top spot. It's a perfect mix of sweetness and potency. I used a $20 bottle of orange liquer rather than the cheaper triple sec so I could get a real sense of how good it can be. I didn't realize my Myer's dark rum was almost empty. I only squeezed a quarter-cup out of it, but that's plenty. I did add a squirt of grenadine just to see how it affects the flavor. I also used Dole's orange-pineapple juice rather than straight orange juice. I didn't know how to make almond syrup, and I couldn't find anything of the sort at the grocery store. So I made a double batch of simple syrup and added a squirt of almond extract. That seemed to do the trick. My, these are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONWHITE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Also makes a nice drink omitting the OJ and using just Simply Limeade. 151 is entirely for kick, and does not seem necessary for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PimpernelSmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mai Tai Cocktail

See how to make the original Tahiti Mai Tai.

Blue Hawaiian Cocktail

See how to make a classic tiki cocktail with rum and blue curacao.

Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake

Stout and Irish cream liqueur flavor this dense chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States