The Perfect Mai Tai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I used this recipe on vacation as the 'drink of the day" and before I knew it, another pitcher was requested. Everyone thought this was "The Perfect Mai Tai!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Fabulous! I make this in a 3 gallon clear server that has an ice base to keep it from getting too warm in the summer. It is such a hit that everyone always wants the recipe. It's become my signature drink around the pool and at the swim up bar. So great, and I always have the festive fruit picks ready to pop on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rabster
Home Town: Tahoe City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This was a big hit!!!! Everyone loved it and was a bit surprised how tipsy they became after one drink. Perfect Hawaiian birthday party punch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I actually give it 4 1/2 starts. These were tasty but yes, they are strong! And I didn't even use the 151 because I was out. Instead I took the advise of other reviewers and just used an extra 1/2 cup each the light and dark rums. To the reviewer that said this is not a 'real' Mai Tai', actually it is. Or at least it's close. The Mai Tai was originally invented by Victor Bergeron of Trader Vic's and consisted of rum, orgeat (almond syrup), orange curacao, fresh lime and rock candy syrup (simple syrup). The difference with this recipe is the orange juice. Although I personally like the fruity Hawaiian versions with pineapple juice better, this recipe is closer to the real thing then they are. For a twist, next time I might try using 4 cups of OJ and 4 cups pineapple juice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Since I love my liquor, I left in the 151 rum and substituted the almond syrup for Amaretto. The second time I did the same and dropped the orange juice. Both was a winner with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Thanks to this recipe, this is now the drink I have become known for at every party or girls nite out! One time, we took 3 gallons of this pre-made in a cooler to VEGAS to meet up with the girls for a weekend. MMMMMMMMM! THANK YOU for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TripletMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I doubled this recipe to serve to a large party (actually making two doubled batches). It was excellent! We did as others have suggested, to eliminate the 151 rum in favor of a 1:1 dark to light rum combo. Added a little extra curacao for a little more orange-y flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This was a hit at my Luau Party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I made this for my bridial shower, it was a hit! You can purchase almond syrup at Cost Plus World Market, Toroni makes it. I used orange pinapple juice as suggested and it was great! I've come back online to get the recipe again as I have a bbq this weekend and can't wait to have them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mai Tai Cocktail

See how to make the original Tahiti Mai Tai.

Blue Hawaiian Cocktail

See how to make a classic tiki cocktail with rum and blue curacao.

Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake

Stout and Irish cream liqueur flavor this dense chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States