The Perfect Mai Tai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
i have to agree with everyone, a darn good mai tai! i was looking for one that had almond flavor in it as i just came back from a royal carribean cruise and was hooked! i followed the advice of another review and subbed out amaretto for the almond syrup. i used the recipe calculator to get it down to four drinks and following that was great. for the 1 1/4 limes juiced i used 2 T fresh lime juice, and also cut down the oj from the 1 cup it said to 1/2 cup because the first batch (of 4!) was a little too "juicy" for my taste. thanks for a great recipe...it's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Made this recipe for a graduation party and everyone loved it! It was all gone within a few minutes. I followed some of the other reviewers advice and I skipped the 151 rum and just made up the difference with equal parts of the light and dark rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Awesome drink! Packs a punch. One minute we were riding in aluminum fishing boats to a cove for some birthday fun, the next we were all passed out on the beach! Sooo yummy! Drinker beware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This is an awesome recipe, but I don't want a whole gallon of mai tais. I customized this to make one good drink, because the serving calculator is way off when you change it to one or two servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Yes this one is perfect! I made this in a 3 gallon decanter and it was gone in 2 hours! I did substitute crystal light sunrise for the oj to cut the calories. It was really good and tropical!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Adjusted booze for no 151 proof rum, used pinapple jusice and orange juice. One big one of these and I'm in Hawaii!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Lolo, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Absolutely the perfect drink for Asian dinners!! My 12 favorite foodie friends are in total agreement. Made it exactly according to recipe, use good quality rum (I used Bacardi), fresh juices and you cannot go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I made this for a recipe club and was a big hit. Even people who said they didn't like mai tais said this was good. I left out the 151 and it was still quite strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This was exactly what we were looking for. One thing that may help some (especially in the pocketbook area) is to make your own almond syrup. After striking out at several stores I I checked the ingredients in the vanilla syrup and then made my own. The vanilla syrups said that they only had vanilla extract, water and sugar... heck I can make that for a almond flavored syrup. I just doubled my batch that I made for my simple syrup and added almond extract. I made it kind of weak given the recipe, but the taste is the same, and it is way cheaper than a bottle of syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I used this recipe on vacation as the 'drink of the day" and before I knew it, another pitcher was requested. Everyone thought this was "The Perfect Mai Tai!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mai Tai Cocktail

See how to make the original Tahiti Mai Tai.

Blue Hawaiian Cocktail

See how to make a classic tiki cocktail with rum and blue curacao.

Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake

Stout and Irish cream liqueur flavor this dense chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States