The Perfect Cream Cheese Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This was wonderful! I hate to roll, so after reading the reviews, I gave it a try. Patting into the pan was perfect! Someone said 'pop-tart' consistency, but I don't think it was as hard. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
The title is perfect for the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This makes a lovely flaky crust and the amount is perfect for 8 inch pie crusts, but if you do 9 inch crusts you are going to have to divide the dough differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
If you're having trouble rolling your dough on flour, place your mixture between two sheets of wax paper and roll. Take off one side of the wax paper and place the rolled dough in your pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
wow, now i actually enjoy making pie crust. gets rave reviews and the best pie crust i have ever tasted! keeps very well in freezer and always have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HoosierGirl
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I loved this recipe!!! It worked out very well for me... Personally, I am not a fan of the traditional pie crust.. this one has such a better taste to it! If you are wondering how the taste may differ my boyfriend said it tastes more like the outside of a pop tart :-) Good luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I screwed up and left this chilling overnight and it turned rock hard. However I thought on it and read over the reviews and I took some half and half and some powdered sugar to be able to roll it out. Used wax paper because it was a little sticky it tastes fabulous and works well with the pumpkin, cherry and pecan pies I am making for thanksgiving always make one for now and freeze the ones to take to thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fantasiakal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I had great success with this recipe. I followed the recipe to the letter except I started by adding just 5 cups of flour and found that I need no more than that. Crust turned out flaky and I had no issues with rolling it out with just a little flour on my board and pin. I did pull half of the dough out so that I could half of the dough savory and half sweet with some extra added sugar. Will being making this again and keeping some on hand at all times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MilitaryWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is the easiest pie crust dough I have ever made or used. Unlike some of the reviewers, I did not find this sticky at all, it rolled out easily and did not tear readily. I used it for a pecan pie, and the only thing I did do differently was brush the floor of the pie crust with some egg white to make sure the bottom of the crust didn't become soupy after baking. The crust was flaky and cut well. I did use more than a "pinch" of salt (I used approx 1/8 teaspoon for a single crust). This recipe is easy to reduce to 1 crust worth of dough. Next time I plan on adding a little vanilla and 2-3 teaspoons of sugar for a fruit pie. I absolutely love this recipe; it is now my "go to" pie crust recipe! Addendum: I think people may not be mixing this long enough and that's why it seems dry. I cream my butter and cr. cheese and then mix in the flour and salt with my hand mixer and literally beat it for 3-4 mins - it will eventually turn from looking like bread crumbs to doughy in appearance. It's at this point that you should stop and make a ball of dough. It's not the least bit sticky and it's possible to roll it out immediately and not use wax paper - it rolls easily. Don't let the reviews scare you away from this recipe - it's easy and is not sticky if you mix it long enough (and it's still flaky when I bake it). Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I used this for the French Silk Chocolate Pie from this site. So yummy!!! I was actually able to ROLL this crust with NO problems! I quartered the recipe, because I have always had horrible luck with pie crusts, and I still have to lose 1/4 a cup of flour. This was fantastic, and I'll be using this recipe from now on!! Finally, a pie crust I can do :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STONYTHORN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ipswich, Suffolk, England, U.K.

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States