The Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I liked the cookies. They weren't the best cookies in the world, but they were stil good. I used 3/4 cup of olive oil instead of 1 cup. At the end I needed to add a little bit of water though. These cookies are very good for people with allergies to dairy products (exept for the chocolate chips). My daughter doesn't like nuts so I left those out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Really like the cookies.....but the batter was so thick it burnt out my hand mixer...smoke and everything!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
My Dad is allergic to butter, so this is a great alternative. The first time they turned out a bit cakey (my measures may have been off). If you have that problem, try taking the baking soda down to 3/4 tsp. As another member noted, losing the butter also means losing the milk solids. So, to reduce the oiliness, I used 3/4 oil with 1 tbsp water and about 1/2-1 oz of cream cheese to replace the saturated fats and milk solids. Add a bit extra brown sugar and a bit less salt to compensate for any cream cheese flavor, and that should bring these tasty treats closer to the original butter recipe. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
My kids loved it! A bit oily, but will decrease the amount next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I replaced the flours so that it would be gluten free and reduced the oil by 2 tablespoons. still yummyyy. =)!! the oil taste was less pronounced the next day. mmmmm i'm not giving any away. I suggest under baking them slightly too. (duh) heh. =) thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Many thoughts about this recipe, which is pretty good. Almost certainly the people who disliked these cookies used old, rancid oil to make it. You must use reasonably fresh oil. To improve the flavor, if you have it, you can use a few tablespoons of sesame, almond, walnut, coconut or other nut oils. If you only shop at the grocery store, your best choices are probably corn or peanut oil, although any will work. You could also add one or two Tbsps of melted butter to add a bit of butter flavor without all the saturated fat. Moreover, the fat in this recipe can be reduced a bit without affecting the texture much. Since this is basically a Toll House Cookie recipe that uses oil instead of butter, and butter is 20% water and milk solids by volume, you can reduce the amount of fat by 20%, replacing it with milk or water, and still get a good result. So use 3/4 cup (12-13 Tbsps) of oil, and about 3-4 Tbsps liquid. If you use the fat + water, make the recipe with bread flour, and mix the dough awhile after the flour is added (say a minute), you will have a chewy textured cookie. Whole-wheat flour and some added spices (about 2 tsp mixed) makes a good spice cookie. Adding 2 tsp corn syrup to the recipe (you can use pancake syrup) will help the cookies stay moist and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Just okay. I definitely prefer the taste and texture of butter in chocolate chip cookies but if you are looking for an alternative these are fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I love this recipe. The batter is a little oily, but i find it easer to put in the pan. Instead of making small cookies i use my glass casserole dish and spread the cookie dough evenly. They bake perfectly and end up being like a brownie cookie. Very delicious! I use a tad more brown sugar because I like my cookies with that extra hint of brown sugar, and I use smart oil which is a mixture of vegetable oil and olive oil. I also cut out the almond extract. This is perhaps the easiest cookie I have ever made, and delicious wither fresh from the oven or chilled in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
No flavor, very sticky when handling the dough. The only these thing that favorded these cookies is they looked nice, otherwise, 1 out of a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Truely the best cookie I have ever made. I never had real butter, and somehow the cookies I made (with margarine) always had a bread-like texture or were cracking hard. These cookies are healthy and pretty darned good! I made a batch and it was eaten up by my family in seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States