The Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
These cookies were hard and crumbly (surprising!) and as I was looking for a moist, slightly chewy cookie, we were VERY disappointed The oil could be tasted and gave them a heavy, almost slightly fishy aftertaste. Also, there were almost NO chocolate chips in them. I added almost another cup to the dough after the first bach, so that there was more than about one-two cc per cookie. We have experimented with many different recipes, and my daughter did an experiment for her science fair, and most people (74%) prefer the taste of cc cookies with shortening. That is what I will be using from now on. DO NOT waste your time or ingredients with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I've tried to make chocolate cookies with several types of fat. Every time I make it with butter, I am not satisfied with the flavour and texture. However, this idea of of using vegetable oil is phenomenal, and I will never go back to using butter for chocolate cookies ever again!The cookies came out crispy on the outside, and chewy and moist on in the inside, which to me, constitutes the best cookie ever! However, I added an extra 1/2 cup of brown sugar based on reading some other reviews. It is really necessary to add that extra brown sugar, because it allows the cookie to form a lovely crust! I gave the recipe 4 starts for the incorrect amount of sugar, but a definite five stars for the idea of using oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
They came out really well, I added some slithered almonds and used 1/8 cup vanilla sugar instead of the extract. They smelled delicious while baking and came out crispy outside and chewy on the inside. Great recipe! No need for the butter at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
These cookies were fairly easy to make. I found that there was too much flour, but maybe that was an error on my part. The cookies were very sweet, and tasted and smelled a little too much like almond extract. I'd recommend omitting that or using less than 1 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I was curious about the idea of using oil so I thought I would give this recipe a try. I changed the recipe some such as omitting the white sugar and almond extract. And instead of vegetable oil I used coconut oil. I also used whole wheat flour and added walnuts. They turned out amazing! Thanks for sharing- I would have never thought to use oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Afraid these didn't live up to their name claim. They're not even really very good and thus certainly not perfect. Even the addition of almond extract in addition to the other ingredients didn't salvage the cookies from the lack of oomph and flavor imparted by real butter. They were greasy and lacked a nice texture and flavor. In my estimation, cookies are bad enough for you that there's really no point in eating them if they don't taste amazing. Just go buy butter and make real cookies, you'll be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cleverpun

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This is the best cookie, just the right consistency. I didn't use almond extract, just increased the vanilla. I have a convection oven and baked them for 10 minutes at 325 degrees. I flattened them a bit before baking and they were just PERFECT. Thank you Emily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Moist and chewy cookie. I only gave it four stars since I did modify the ingredients a bit by following other reviews. I used 3/4 cup oil with 2 tablespoon water and I used bread flour. I measured out the dough to one tablespoon and added about 9 chocolate chips to each, I ended up with 45 cookies. I baked at 375 degree and the cookies were perfect. Great to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
The mixture was too oily and we had to add more sugar. There was also too much flour as we could taste it. Sorry, but 1 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gershkies
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
It was really delicious! The cookies came out thick and moist on the inside and crunchy on the outside. I replaced the tsp. of Almond extract with another tsp. of Vanilla. My kids didn't even know that I was out of butter. YUMMY and very suprised I could make such great cookies without butter. They don't taste great until they are cool. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States