The Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I'm a cookie monster and had to find a recipe that allows me to eat as many as possible. I had to scour the Internet to find a recipe that used oil.. I read that you can substitute part oil for butter in mostly any ratio you want as long as the wet/dry/fat proportions stay the same as the recipe. I did 1 stick of unsalted butter and about a half cup of vegetable oil. Lessen the amount of almond extract because it takes over! I'd do 1/4 teaspoon almond extract and more vanilla. I also did a little less white sugar and a little more brown. I also added a 1/4 teaspoon of instant coffee since I was using a 61 percent vhalrhona bar ! It really accentuated the quality of the chocolate.. This recipe yielded an amazing flat cookie that was crispy on the edges and soft and chewy in the middle. The more amazing part was that these cookies retained their moisture and stayed chewy for days.. Though it really didn't take me that long to eat em all.. Play with this recipe and you will be soo happy.. It seems like the perfect recipe to get all iron chef and add all sorts of things like chilli flakes? Ginger? Black pepper? Toffee? I'm on a cookie rampage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
My entire office loved these cookies! Used a little less oil than required (a little more than 3/4 cup). I used olive oil since that all I ever use, but I recommend using veggie or canola oil. Still though, olive oil wasn't bad at all. If that's all you have, use it! Also, I have a lot of Indian friends who don't eat eggs. So, as a replacement, I used flaxseed meal from Trader Joe's. For every one egg, use 1 tablespoon flaxseed meal plus 3 tablespoons cold water. Can't taste the difference at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latoboston

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Not the greatest of cookies. Lacking in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Awesome! I, like most of the reviews, had no butter/marg. So I google, Chocolate Chip cookies made with oil!! So happy, so pleased! I added a little "egg"-tra salt, because I am a salt queen :) and I am always low in salt...extra salt with the sugar will bring out more flavor. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
When these were warm out of the oven, I gave them a 3 for flavor, 5 for taste. But the next day they were 5 all around. Great texture and suprisingly not cakey. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I love this recipe, it's not too sweet and very simple. No complaints from my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I really like the texture of these cookies with the crispy outside and chewy center but the flavor is lacking...I also found it very difficult to keep the chocolate chips mixed with the dough. They kept falling out as I would scoop a spoonful to drop on the pan. I probably won't make these again unless I was in desparate need and ran out of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I actually got this recipe off another website. That recipe called for 3 full cups of flour and no almond extract. I followed that one (since I didn't find this one on allrecipes until later). These were surprisingly good. Love that I don't have to take out the beater. One star off since mine did not spread. Couple of the photos on allrecipes show that their cookies did not spread as much either. Next time I make this, I will make it with 2.5 cups of flour, and if it spreads more, then I will increase the rating. Edit (8/31/2012, 9/16/2012): I followed this recipe twice now and used 2.5 cups and it spread plenty now! I baked it at 350 for 11min and it came out perfect - a bit crispy on the outside, soft on the inside. 5stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I read the other reviews about the flavor and used 2 teaspoons of vanilla and nixed the tsp of almond altogether. I also used peanut oil instead of vegetable oil. The first batch of cookies came out great and tasted way better than I expected. With the second batch I added 1 tsp of sour cream. I didn't like the puffy way they came out of the oven with that second batch using the sour cream, but they tasted wonderful, even better than the first ones! I've been searching for a really good chocolate chip cookie recipe and this is it. I don't understand why other people had such a problem with their batter, their other measurements may have been off because this cookie dough has the same consistency as the ones with butter and it's not "runny" at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sammi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I made a couple substitutions; whole wheat flour & organic sugar & no almond extract (bc I was out) still turned out super yummy! The 2doz recipe actually 3 doz also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States