The Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
These looked great and were crispy on the outside and chewy in the inside. Almond flavoring was a little different, I might just use vanilla next time. The dough looked so odd that I was worried about how they would bake, but they looked perfect. Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
In our never-ending quest to cut margerine out of our diet (we don't use butter for baking), we found this recipe. Prepared exactly according to directions - minus the almond extract - by my 16 year old son, they came out PERFECT. For someone who is not accustomed to the flavor of butter in baking, they are fabulous. The color and texture are great. The batter was a bit "funny", but it all worked out in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
These are yummy!!! They turn out perfect every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYMCKILLIP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pacific City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This recipe as is produced a very oily batter that needed more dry ingredients to make it the right consistency. I'm not sure how much more past the 2.5 cups of flour I used because I added some little by little. They tasted ok - but I won't try an oil vs shortening/butter/margarine recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
Great cookie if you don't have butter. I added a little extra salt (because I usually use salted butter in my cookie recipes) and used double vanilla (no almond). Turned out perfectly. I still like butter cookies better, but these were a good second place (and less expensive).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
These cookies are okay. I really wanted to love them, but I felt like they were missing something -- maybe more salt? The texture was very good and they looked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
these were good! I was a little wary of using oil instead of butter and I admit that the batter looked a little weird but once they were baked they were lovely, delicately crispy on the outside with a soft, fluffy center... of course they're different from a butter recipe but by no means bad. I haven't tried them cold yet though, so I guess this is based on them being fresh and warm out of the oven (which is near impossible not to like..)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This is a great chocolate chip recipe! I didn't have almond extract, so I just added a bit more vanilla instead. They tasted very rich since there's so much oil in them. In the future I'll try to cut down the oil to the perfect amount. We put in two batches at once and each had a different texture. The heating element is at the bottom and the cookies on the bottom rack had a plain, smooth surface. The cookies on the top rack had a crispy, textured top layer, as well as a crisp bottom layer, with a perfect center. We chose to cook the rest of the batter on the top shelf. For some added texture and nutrition, we added maybe 1/4 cup of oats (we didn't actually measure it) to the last half of the recipe. I preferred the choc chip oat cookies, but both the plain and oatmeal ones were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIRL40165

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Something's missing from these...I tried them because my original recipe calls for butter, of which I am out of at the moment. Definitely not perfect, not the worst, but I will NOT make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rocks
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
I made a couple substitutions in the recipe - whole wheat flour instead of all purpose, and splenda instead of sugar. That way I can call them "healthy" and eat them guilt free. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States