The Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Many thoughts about this recipe, which is pretty good. Almost certainly the people who disliked these cookies used old, rancid oil to make it. You must use reasonably fresh oil. To improve the flavor, if you have it, you can use a few tablespoons of sesame, almond, walnut, coconut or other nut oils. If you only shop at the grocery store, your best choices are probably corn or peanut oil, although any will work. You could also add one or two Tbsps of melted butter to add a bit of butter flavor without all the saturated fat. Moreover, the fat in this recipe can be reduced a bit without affecting the texture much. Since this is basically a Toll House Cookie recipe that uses oil instead of butter, and butter is 20% water and milk solids by volume, you can reduce the amount of fat by 20%, replacing it with milk or water, and still get a good result. So use 3/4 cup (12-13 Tbsps) of oil, and about 3-4 Tbsps liquid. If you use the fat + water, make the recipe with bread flour, and mix the dough awhile after the flour is added (say a minute), you will have a chewy textured cookie. Whole-wheat flour and some added spices (about 2 tsp mixed) makes a good spice cookie. Adding 2 tsp corn syrup to the recipe (you can use pancake syrup) will help the cookies stay moist and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Just okay. I definitely prefer the taste and texture of butter in chocolate chip cookies but if you are looking for an alternative these are fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I love this recipe. The batter is a little oily, but i find it easer to put in the pan. Instead of making small cookies i use my glass casserole dish and spread the cookie dough evenly. They bake perfectly and end up being like a brownie cookie. Very delicious! I use a tad more brown sugar because I like my cookies with that extra hint of brown sugar, and I use smart oil which is a mixture of vegetable oil and olive oil. I also cut out the almond extract. This is perhaps the easiest cookie I have ever made, and delicious wither fresh from the oven or chilled in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
No flavor, very sticky when handling the dough. The only these thing that favorded these cookies is they looked nice, otherwise, 1 out of a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Truely the best cookie I have ever made. I never had real butter, and somehow the cookies I made (with margarine) always had a bread-like texture or were cracking hard. These cookies are healthy and pretty darned good! I made a batch and it was eaten up by my family in seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I'm not sure why I'm not giving this a 5 - it is a great cookie! I just need to experiment with some other ingredients to see how versatile it can be - has anyone tried this recipe with oatmeal? I used safflower oil and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
These are great! Dough is easy to work with and does freeze well. Could perhaps use more choc. chips, but otherwise better than Tollhouse by far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
We made a huge cookie and put it in for fifteen minutes. It was a little cakey, but still pretty good. Actually, it was even better than my Betty Crocker chocolate chip cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
For a chocolate chip cookie made with vegetable oil, this is pretty good. I made the recipe the first couple of times with just veggie oil (soybean). Then, one time I did not have enough veggie oil, so I supplemented with corn oil (about half and half). The cookies turned out even better with this mixture. The corn oil seemed to add an additional level of richness that the cookie didn't have previously. I highly recommend trying a combo of these two oils. I've thought about using all corn oil, but I'm happy with how they are turning out now and don't want to risk it. I also bake on convection bake at 325 and for about 11 minutes. I'm sure the temp and cooking time will just vary from oven to oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kittiesarepretties
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
This is the exact texture of a cookie that I have been looking for! I love the idea of putting some almond extract in it. Since I used about 3/4 bag of Nestle Milk Chocolate Caramel chips and 1/3 bag of semi-sweet chips it gave it such a great mixture of flavor. I think the caramel goes great with the nutty almond flavor. This really is a wonderful cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States