The Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Normally I try to make a recipe three times before rating it. I've baked five batches of these excellent cookies. Because they're made with oil rather than shortening, butter or margarine the texture is different but every bit as good. Cookies made with shortening, margaine or butter tend to have crispy or crumbly edges, but when baked properly, these crisp up nicely on the edges also. For those with cholesterol, saturated fat or trnas-fats issues, this recipe is a great find. You are giving up nothing with these cookies. The flavor is excellent, and the texture very satisfying, and the batter freezes well. I would suggest making a batch but baking just one tray to see how they turn out in YOUR oven, because as we all know, the recipe numbers for temperature and length of baking time vary with our own particular oven. Mine was spot-on, but cookies baked on the lower rack burned a little while upper rack cookies were perfection. I add walnuts, but I assume you can add anything you want, craisins, raisins, coconut, any kind of nut. You can even leave out the chocolate. But who'd be crazy enough to do that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
one of the best cookies ive had in awhile. my whole family loved em. great texture and taste, but next time i might add a slight bit more almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
I made this recipe because I wanted cookies, but didn't have any butter or shortening, only Oil. This is the only Chocolate chip cookie recipe I could find that used oil. I wasn't sorry! These cookies were very moist and my whole family loves them. I added more chocolate chips, omitted the almond extract(only because I had none) and doubled the vanilla to make up for the lack of almond flavor. Also, I used a little less white sugar. I love these cookies and will definitly make again! Thanks Emily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
this cookie was excellent, very moist, and chewy. i cut the oil to 2/3 cup and added 1 cup flaxseed meal, cut the sugar to 1 1/4 and added 2 T molasses, and i also used carob for chocolate...and it was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
I made these cookies with my boyfriend, after various attempts with other recipes. And I have to say....that these have been the best recipe so far. They were by no means bland in anyway, and we will definitely be making them again. We omitted the almond extract (as we too did not have any) and used double the quantity of vanilla extract. We also added a little more baking soda. I truly believe that the oil made all the difference to the texture. I have consistantly been disappointed with a 'cake-like' texture, which have been rather try, but these were wonderfully moist. A definite recipe for any cook. I would recommend anyone to try these. In fact we have eaten them all and are about to make some more this evening! A wonderful find!! Thanks Emily :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This cookie is excellent! Perfectly crisp on the outside and chewy in the center. I put in extra vanilla instead of almond but it still turned out great! I'll definately be making these for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bridgeport, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BatMom
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
These cookies came out great! I'm not personally a huge fan of chewy chocholate chip cookies,but even I thought they were delicious. My husband and guests really, really enjoyed them and kept complimenting them. I was running low on flour, so I used 1/2 cup of whole-wheat flour and they still came out terrific. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
Delicious. I love my cookies soft, and this recipe does exactly that. I added one cup of flaxseed to the dry mix, and thus had to add a little extra vegetable oil to keep the consistency good. I also added about twice as much vanilla extract. If you do not like the tast of almond extract, add about half as much. Overall, a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
WONDERFUL!!! The softest best tasting chocolate chip cookie around. I made these for the holidays and they were eaten up by my family before I could give them out to neighbors. I had to make another batch. I didn't have almond extract but doubled the vanilla, it was superb!!! I am going to make another batch today to bring to the Superbowl Party. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
great cookies! i cut the almond extract in half and simply added more vanilla. Try chilling the batter before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States