The Perfect Basic Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I was somewhat hesitant to try this recipe after seeing that it had only 3.5 stars (I know, 3.5 - I don't like wasting food). However, I tried it, as I wanted a plain burger that I could top with ketchup, mustard, onions, and pickles - in other words traditional toppings. I'm not one for fish burgers or anything gourmand-like like that. To the user that said that this burger was tasteless, I would say that the burger would be tasteless by itself and with no condiments. However, I added a slice of cheese (let it melt a bit under the burger patty), pickles, ketchup, mustard, a couple slices of onions, and wow. It was great. Let me just say that I won't be going to Burger King for a while. This burger tasted great - it tasted so juicy and meaty! I had one for lunch and one for dinner. Deelish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This is exactly as stated "a perfect basic burger". It's simple and if you look at the ingredients the flavor will come from the beef you use, so use a good grade of beef. It also holds the burger together well on the grill. It's almost like what McDonald's uses. This is the perfect base to add some really great condiments. I used cheese, pickles, finely chopped onion, lettuce, tomato and "Best Burger Sauce" from this site. I normally don't do that with other burger recipes from this site because they stand on their own due to the amount of seasonings, spices and other additions. Those call for just lettuce, tomato and bun. You don't want to ruin the flavor with a bunch of condiments. If you're looking for a lot of spice this isn't for you. If you want to experiment with some different toppings or condiments this is the burger to try it on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This is a BASIC recipe, very few ingredients so what would you expect? A lot of the taste will come from the ground beef you are using, low grade ground beef will yield a pretty much bland tasting burger. You should always use a good ground beef for plain hamburgers, use good, you get good. Simple. These are great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Silver City, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
This is just that the perfect basic burger, nothing fancy and really a rather plain taste. However, if you are planning on dressing it up with toppings it is the way to go as your hamburger patty will not compete with the toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Simple, traditional, and good for the masses because it's versatile. I served them at a casual cook-out of family and friends. If you are looking for a non-traditional, gourmet burger then this recipe is not for you. I made as directed. Those guests that wanted cheese added cheese, those that wanted onion added onion, etc. Just like it reads, this was the perfect basic burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brendan
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
It was the description that made me want to make these! Since the weather was so nice - I decided to barbecue. A simple recipe but I added some fresh spinach leaves and cheese which dressed it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
Tasteless. Just add your favorite seasonings to the meat and a little liquid smoke for the perfect burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2001
Easy, quick, and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
Delicious all the others who say bland tasteless they are wrong this burger is wonderful especially if you add cheese.I LOVE THIS BURGER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Basic burger is right. If you want something else then don't make them this way! These are great just the way they are. It's the veggies and condiments that flavor the meat.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoChaHo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Giant King Cake Burger

A big, bad burger with major mojo for your Mardi Gras party.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States