The Perfect Basic Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
according to the title it`s just basic buger, which means that U can add what ever u like . if U r sure that the quality and the flavor of ur ground beef is high so U don`t have to add any thing. for me I add 1 small chopped onion , garlic powder and season salt but I add just 1/4 cup of bread crumbs .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Hey guys, guess what? It's basic meatloaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I love this recipe. I really enjoyed it because it was so basic that everyone could add anything they wanted to their own burger. I did not have propane for my grill and I felt kinda lazy, so I added another egg in the mix and pan fried them. Will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach3000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Nothing fancy about this burger. Just very basic and lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melzilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Sorry I agree with the meatloaf comments. I find the perfect basic hambuger is 80/20 ground beef, broiled steak seasoning, minimally handled/shaped and grilled over charcoal. Top with fixings of your choice on a fresh/toasted bun. Perfect and Basic yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Bachmann Chaney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I guess some people didn't read the whole title :-) This was exactly as described. If you wanted the 'perfect sweet burger, or smoke burger, or your personal tastes burger' Then you really should have been tipped off when you read the ingredients that this was as stated 'Basic'. Add what you want, but don't complain that something was exactly what it said it was. Now for the review /rant off. This was tasty, I had my butcher freshly grind the beef for me. The flavour was uncomplicated and worked great for all the guests we had. I set out a variety of traditional and more exotic burger toppings (wasabi mayo alongside ketchup lol). I for one, really prefer to add individual flavour this way instead of in the meat where people can have wildly differing tastes and likes/dislikes and you can't change it after its cooked. Thank you for the post, its in my recipe box :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This is exactly as stated "a perfect basic burger". It's simple and if you look at the ingredients the flavor will come from the beef you use, so use a good grade of beef. It also holds the burger together well on the grill. It's almost like what McDonald's uses. This is the perfect base to add some really great condiments. I used cheese, pickles, finely chopped onion, lettuce, tomato and "Best Burger Sauce" from this site. I normally don't do that with other burger recipes from this site because they stand on their own due to the amount of seasonings, spices and other additions. Those call for just lettuce, tomato and bun. You don't want to ruin the flavor with a bunch of condiments. If you're looking for a lot of spice this isn't for you. If you want to experiment with some different toppings or condiments this is the burger to try it on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
very good with condiments. it tasted a little weird plain. thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This recipe makes a pretty good burger. It does a nice job of holding together the meat during cooking to make a plump patty that tastes more like a restaurant burger, than homemade. I will definitely be using this one over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
To the folks who say this recipe is "bland", "tasteless" or other such comments... This is a "basic" burger. Some of us have (bachelors) never quite been able to get burgers to the right consistancy and such even BEFORE adding other stuff to it (myself included). If you're looking for something "no frills" that you can experiment with and dress up (either with condiments or extra ingredients), this is what you need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Giant King Cake Burger

A big, bad burger with major mojo for your Mardi Gras party.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States