The Perfect Basic Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Are you kidding me? A perfect BASIC burger, just like Lindsay says. It leaves it wide open to add whatever your heart's content calls for. Far easier to add to a recipe than take away. I think some people just don't understand basic. Thanks Lindsay, a real keeper, something I can dress up if I want, or enjoy as is, with my favourite condiments & some cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Plain ground beef burgers DEPEND on using quality beef. That means not super lean, and not super fatty, and not so old that it's turning colors (even safe colors.) If you have good, fresh beef, this is a great recipe to use. If you have cheap beef, low-fat beef, beef mixed with turkey or chicken, or old beef, then you're best off using a flavorful recipe that will mask those things. Many chefs suggest not using any seasoning other than salt and pepper--not even eggs or bread crumbs! Why people would vote this one down for being, essentially, "too basic", is beyond me--it's the very first burger recipe most people learn to use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
It's simple but amazingly good! Worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by waterleamon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I don't know what people were talking about when they said that this burger was flavorless...I just made them for the family a few minutes ago popped some swiss cheese mushrooms and some ketchup on them and they were raving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This was a basic burger. It wan't juicy. It was a dry meatloaf on a bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
according to the title it`s just basic buger, which means that U can add what ever u like . if U r sure that the quality and the flavor of ur ground beef is high so U don`t have to add any thing. for me I add 1 small chopped onion , garlic powder and season salt but I add just 1/4 cup of bread crumbs .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Hey guys, guess what? It's basic meatloaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I love this recipe. I really enjoyed it because it was so basic that everyone could add anything they wanted to their own burger. I did not have propane for my grill and I felt kinda lazy, so I added another egg in the mix and pan fried them. Will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach3000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Nothing fancy about this burger. Just very basic and lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melzilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Sorry I agree with the meatloaf comments. I find the perfect basic hambuger is 80/20 ground beef, broiled steak seasoning, minimally handled/shaped and grilled over charcoal. Top with fixings of your choice on a fresh/toasted bun. Perfect and Basic yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarylandGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Giant King Cake Burger

A big, bad burger with major mojo for your Mardi Gras party.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States