The Original Potato Salad with Real Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Great recipe! I did feel compelled to add mustard and dill relish. Everyone has their own tweaks for potato salad:) And I've used only Hellmann's since I found out how much better it is than the others on the market!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
A little bit bland as written. I added some sweet pickle relish, dry mustard and green onions. Would make again with these additions... some have said they added radishes... I LIKE THAT IDEA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This turned out as expected...a good potato salad. Nothing special, but good. I think you could add things to it to make it your own...chopped pickle, radishes, olives, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
My family loves this recipe. You can't beat Hellman's own recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Yum! I like to add pickles and mustard, but it's great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This was just okay. I didn't have any celery and I think that may have helped a lot. May have to try again and re-rate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Since I don't eat potato salad I am rating this based on the react that I got from others. I have made this twice and I was told that it's perfect! I made this recipe exactly as it was written and it worked out great. This is my go to recipe when I need potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cortney McDaniel Moody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Very easy to make and delicious. I did add a squirt or two of mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Delicious, quick and easy! My family don't like lots of ingredients in their potato salad, so this was perfect! Was a little uneasy about the sugar, but added it anyway and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jurada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Good start but you can add to this base recipe to make it GREAT. I added sliced radish and used green onion instead of chopped white onion. I also added 1 tsp of mustard, a pinch of dill and cut back the salt to 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States