The Original Potato Salad with Real Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Great base recipe to put your personal spin and embellishment on. I wish I had a nickel for every time Mom made this as I was growing up and then myself after that. We never add sugar, but we do add a little dill pickle juice, a squirt or two of yellow mustard, and a plop of sour cream - oh, and maybe a dribble of milk if it's too thick. And there are so many possibilities for add-ins - thinly sliced radishes, green onion, chopped dill pickles or cucumbers, bell pepper - just go to your produce department and see what looks good to you and has lots of color. Good, reliable and nostalgic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Great base for potato salad! This is classic picnic food and I made this to go with pork ribs. No matter what your personal preference potato salad is always a hit! I add more eggs and use green onions. I always mix the dressing part separate then add it to the potatoes and veggies so it doesn't get mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is still the best recipe for potato salad. The only thing I do differently is add less salt, more like 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Absolutely perfect recipe. This needs no additions or substitutions. Exactly what potato salad should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Robinson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I have been using this recipe for several years. I started using it when I ran across it on the back of a Hellmann's jar. It sounded perfect because I do not like mustard. Family and friends always ask me to bring the potato salad because it is so good. I made it for Easter and forgot to put the onions in. If it is possible for this to get better, I think the missing onions may have made it taste even better. I do increase the sugar to a heaping tablespoon. Next time I may try cutting the onions in half and see how that taste. Even if you follow the recipe as written it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
A little bit bland as written. I added some sweet pickle relish, dry mustard and green onions. Would make again with these additions... some have said they added radishes... I LIKE THAT IDEA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I have been making a very similar recipe for years, but I omit the salt, sugar and vinegar and substitute a chopped medium large garlic pickle with the brine. Be sure to toss this with the potatoes while they are very warm. It is irresistable after it has been chilled for at least an hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mahwah, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is how my mom made hers. I don't recall her using vinegar. She did add chopped sweet pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is the recipe my mother made most often and is the one I refer back to in a pinch when I am short on time. Sweet pickles can be added to taste. It's creamy, old fashioned flavor is perfect for those summer picnics and backyard parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is the ONLY potato salad I use! Perfect combo of spice. I think you need to make this at least the morning of or a day before so the salad has a chance to gel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States