The Original Potato Salad with Real Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
My mom made it this way and everyone loved it, the only thing extra she added was green pepper! Sandy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I, too, have made this potato salad before after seeing it on the back of the mayonnaise jar (Hellmann's is the ONLY brand I buy/use). It is super simple to throw together, and tastes great! I also like to make it a day ahead to allow the flavors to blend together. This is a very versatile recipe. You could change up the quantities or add anything to it to suit your tastes. This is a wonderfully simple potato salad! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is still the best recipe for potato salad. The only thing I do differently is add less salt, more like 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I have been making a very similar recipe for years, but I omit the salt, sugar and vinegar and substitute a chopped medium large garlic pickle with the brine. Be sure to toss this with the potatoes while they are very warm. It is irresistable after it has been chilled for at least an hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mahwah, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is the recipe my mother made most often and is the one I refer back to in a pinch when I am short on time. Sweet pickles can be added to taste. It's creamy, old fashioned flavor is perfect for those summer picnics and backyard parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I have been using this recipe for several years. I started using it when I ran across it on the back of a Hellmann's jar. It sounded perfect because I do not like mustard. Family and friends always ask me to bring the potato salad because it is so good. I made it for Easter and forgot to put the onions in. If it is possible for this to get better, I think the missing onions may have made it taste even better. I do increase the sugar to a heaping tablespoon. Next time I may try cutting the onions in half and see how that taste. Even if you follow the recipe as written it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is the ONLY potato salad I use! Perfect combo of spice. I think you need to make this at least the morning of or a day before so the salad has a chance to gel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Great recipe! I have been making it just as written for years and people love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is how my mom made hers. I don't recall her using vinegar. She did add chopped sweet pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
They used to put this on the label- this and their Macaroni Salad recipe were the best (starter) cause you can tweak it from there. Always good, I used to cut back the Mayo so it wasn't sloppy wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States