The Original Potato Salad with Real Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I've always like this recipe but it's way to salty. Cut it back to .5 tsp or to taste. I use Yukon Gold Potatoes. After they are done cooking I splash them with additional apple cider vinegar to absorb the tang. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEALCALF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Great base recipe, easily made fabulous with additions for your personal tastes. I added a little bit of prepared yellow mustard and some dill relish and fresh dill. Absolutely simple and perfect. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This recipe is easy and delicious. Perfect classic potato salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Great, versatile recipe - lots of good suggestions in the reviews. I was in a rush so I didn't mix the mayo + seasonings in a separate bowl before adding the potatoes. I just added all ingredients in one bowl and mixed. I could see how it'd make the mixture more even and easier to mix with the potatoes. Next time I'll do that. still, it came out great and everyone went back for seconds (at least). I did change it up a bit using review suggestions and also due to laziness/time. I used dill pickle juice (about 2 TBSP) instead of the vinegar and sugar, added a dash of sour cream, a squirt of yellow mustard and a little less onions than called for. I usually don't like raw celery so I used a bit less than it calls for - but loved it in this salad. It gave it a much needed texture. Delicious, easy and will definitely make again. (I used russet potatoes and did add the boiled eggs.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This is always a classic, but I make some adjustments. I leave the skins on the potatoes, use fat-free mayo, use green onion instead of white or yellow, and add a chopped pickle and a tbls of mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miles City, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I made this for a BBQ. It was a huge hit. I did make a few small changes. I added pickles and left out the onions. This is why I only gave it 4 stars instead of 5. I came home without leftovers. Its a keeper. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Great base recipe to put your personal spin and embellishment on. I wish I had a nickel for every time Mom made this as I was growing up and then myself after that. We never add sugar, but we do add a little dill pickle juice, a squirt or two of yellow mustard, and a plop of sour cream - oh, and maybe a dribble of milk if it's too thick. And there are so many possibilities for add-ins - thinly sliced radishes, green onion, chopped dill pickles or cucumbers, bell pepper - just go to your produce department and see what looks good to you and has lots of color. Good, reliable and nostalgic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Absolutely perfect recipe. This needs no additions or substitutions. Exactly what potato salad should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaveinDenver

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
THIS IS THS BEST POTATO SALAD EVER!!!!I HAVE BEEN USING THIS RECIPE FOR YEARS & EVERYONE ALWAYS RAVES ABOUT IT & WANTS THE RECIPE!!!! JUST DELISH!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I think this is the very best potato salad recipe. I've been making this for 20 years, my mother made it before me. Maybe it's because I grew up on this recipe, but it's really the only potato salad I truly love. My kids feel the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States