The Original Home-Baked Girl Scout Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This recipe was a disaster, I don't even want to show a photo of how flat and run-together these cookies look. I wanted to be true to the recipe, but as nataliemac said, it was too sticky. I rolled them up in plastic wrap, and froze for a couple hours, but still sticky. If I had followed my instincts, I would have added a 1/2 tsp. of salt, and 1/2 cup more flour. They broke into a million pieces when I tried to scrape them off the cookie pan. Taste is okay, needs salt. islandteal, typo in recipe means cream the butter and sugar together (mix until creamy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mramming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This recipe does create sticky dough. What helps is to refridgerate the dough and then roll it out with flouring the roller and the dough continually. Carefully cut out each tremoil, and use a strong stiff pie server to place each cookie on the cookie sheet. I also baked them for 11 minutes in my oven. Then they look perfect. This is a recipe 90 yrs old, so I think of how they were originally made in a wood stove oven. Girl Scouts take on any challenge and over come them. I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
As a Girl Scout Leader, we created a Sweet Shoppe workshop for over 25 Girl Scouts. This was so much fun and the girls were able to experiance Girl Scout History. They loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThoseCrazySims

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Cookies tasted good, but the first line says add cream to butter and sugar. There is no cream in the ingredient list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I omitted the milk due to comments about it being too sticky. Doubt if it affected the flavor. I'm guessing flour was denser/less refined in those days and the extra moisture was needed then. I refrigerated the dough in small portions, then refrigerated the cutout cookies on the sheet before baking. Worked fine. I thought the flavor was good. Sweeter than most sugar cookie recipes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Good little recipe. Trefoils aren't my favorite but this is a nice recipe to have. If the dough is too sticky for you just make sure you are working with a floured pin and surface.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
This recipe made a very sticky dough that was the consistency of most drop cookies. Even after sitting in the freezer for over an hour, there was no way to roll it out. The cookies taste rather bland and flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NATALIEMAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
THIS IS A WONDERFULLY TENDER COOKIE WITH GREAT TASTE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States