The Original Fantasy Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This is the only recipe that my family has ever used, and it's the only one I use and will continue to use...This makes the creamiest, most delicious fudge that you will ever eat, and it's simple to make too! Sometimes I will use white choco. chips and add nuts, cherries, etc.... or white chips w/ maple flavoring and walnuts. I have done so many different flavor combinations w/ this recipe, and it always turns out fantastic~YUM! :) NOTE: If you happen to have a candy thermometer handy, you will want to bring the mixture to 234 degrees, then continue w/ the recipe. I find that I have better luck using a thermometer than just timing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I used butter instead of margerine, chopped pecans instead of walnuts and pure vanilla extract. We LOVE this fudge. Out of the whole pan that I sliced, only four pieces remain. Very simple fudge recipe with excellent results--it really tastes like something you'd buy from a specialty shop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I have made this recipe for decades now and it's just as good now as it was then! This is THE best fudge recipe. Use butter for sure, it lends so much better flavor than margarine. I have never used marshmallow creme though, just a bag of good old miniature marshmallows, 10 ounces is fine or the bigger bag of 16 ounces is okay too. They melt in just fine along with the chocolate chips. That way, you can just keep marshmallows and chocolate chips on hand, they're good for many other things, and then you're ready to make this on the spur of the moment. If you want, you can stir the miniature marshmallows in not quite completely in, and you have a rocky-road fudge. Also, I toast 2 cups or more of walnut or pecan halves in the oven (about 350 degrees, maybe 10 minutes?) till they are fragrant and slightly colored. The toasted nuts taste fantastic in this fudge, and there's no need to chop them at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I have read where a reviewer says this is not the original recipe - then they give a link to the "original" they think it is... but sorry that link takes to me what is similar to what is NOW on the fluff jar using the baking chocolate. The recipe here sounds much more like I remember from my umpteen years of this recipe. Thanks so much for posting this recipe! I was so sad when they changed it! It just isn't the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This is the BEST without a doubt. Have made this particular recipe many times. To Chris who had fudge that didn't set up. If you want to try this again, buy a candy thermometer and cook until it's 234 degrees, then remove from the stove and add, marshmallow, choc. chips, and vanilla. If it gets not hot enough it will be mushy. TOO hot and it will crystalize. To have directions that read EX number of minutes on the stove just doesn't quite do it. Some people have electric stoves, others gas burners. Best to use a thermometer and not run the risk of wasting all your ingredients. I, myself, learned this the hard way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
The original recipe says to boil the sugar mixture until the temperature reaches 234°F on a candy thermometer. I've made this every year for the last 15 years or so. Trust me, 5 minutes of boiling WILL NOT bring the mixture to 234°. It takes at least twice that long, maybe longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I have used this recipe for years and it's amazing! My friends and family always ask for it around the holidays. It's really easy to make and it's funny because people have actually paid me to make this for them, even though it's the recipe that's on the jar of the marshmallow cream. They think this is a secret recipe that I have! I've used all different kinds of chocolate chips and it's always perfect! Peanut butter and milk chocolate is my favorite. I've added Mint flavoring to make mint chocolate fudge...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I've been making this for 30+ years, and I've never had it not set up. I've done both the microwave and the stove top versions. I made some today on the stove top. I used a large pot, more like a dutch oven than a saucepan. Always get it to a full, rolling boil before starting your timer (a rolling boil being one that boils vigorously even when you're stirring). Give it the full five minutes. I've never used a thermometer. I like to pour it into two 9 inch pie pans when I'm giving it away as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
this is the best fudge recipe around. I have been making it for years and my family begs for it during the holidays. I lost the original recipe in Katrina but luckily it was committed to memory. I just need to look at a jar of marshmallow creme to jog the butterflies in my head.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandevillemiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Have used this recipe for years. It has never failed. I do cook mine in a large 8 qt. dutch oven instead of a sauce pan. It does make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States