The Original Fantasy Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Thank goodness you'd posted this! I went to make this on Christmas Eve and thought the recipe would be on the back of the marshmallow cream. Hadn't made it since they'd changed to chopped Baker's chocolate which , if course, I didn't have. Thank you, thank you! Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I added Reese's peanut butter chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aloha, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I have been making this Kraft Fantasy Fudge for decades now. I make it for friends and family in lieu of other kinds of Christmas cookies. I also call this "No Fail Fudge". Forget about the candy thermometers. If you bring the butter, sugar, evaporated milk mixture to a rolling boil and THEN turn your timer to 5 minutes, it will be cooked to the right level. I also ALWAYS use the original brands called for by the original recipe: Parkay margarine, Kraft Marshmallow Creme, Nestle Chips,Carnation Evaporated Milk. My BIG no-so-secret addition to this fudge is that I add a cup of raisins to each batch. (If I double the recipe, and I usually do, that would be 2 cups.) I add the raisins last. EVERYone loves this!Trust me. People will rave about the raisins. My 28 year old son has been experimenting for the last few Christmas seasons by adding other things to the fudge. He has added a layer of dulce du leche in between two layers of fudge, or peanut butter. Last week he added a layer of creme de menthe flavor. I am not going to mess with success.I like the original!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen O'Brien

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
For those having a problem with this setting up right, you probably need to test your thermometer. Altitude does make a difference, but not a problem if you test thermometer. Dip the end of thermometer in boiling water, then add 22 degrees to that number and it will be perfect. For example when I make jelly, in my area the water boils at 211 degrees, so I add 8 to that number for perfect jelly. It is always a good idea to test a thermometer in any cooking. The thermometer may not be precisely calibrated. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
My fudge seems like the sugar did not resolve all of the way. Does anyone have any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Thank you for posting this original recipe for Fantasy Fudge. My husband and I have been making this at the holidays for 26 years. It's the creamiest, most delicious fudge and a favorite holiday tradition for us and family we share it with. It's great to have 2 people in the kitchen to share stirring duty! We use real butter and vanilla and a candy thermometer to 234 degrees. It's spot on 5 minutes from the time it comes to a full boil. We grease a small spatula with butter to make it easier to get the marshmallow cream from the jar and have each batch's ingredients at the ready to make pound after pound with and without pecans. We let the pans sit open to cool. When the shine fades it's time to cut, layer with wax paper and pack in festive tins and ship. We're trying a couple of batches with the flavor ideas I read here this year. Thanks, again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This was the first time this fudge didn't set for me. I wonder if elevation has anything to do with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southampton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
THE ONE AND ONLY FUDGE RECIPE! Those who have trouble with it should use a candy thermometer. That is the critical part of making perfect fudge. Timing is just guesswork as every stove and pot used can cause major differences in the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I use this recipe every year for Christmas gifts. I also substitute peanut butter chips for the chocolate chips to make peanut butter fudge. Comes out fantastic! My family and friends look forward to it every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Thanks been looking for this one for a long time. I love this recipe but will make chocolate, White Chocolate and peanut butter by simply using different chips. My favorite is the Peanut Butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States