The Original Donair From the East Coast of Canada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I am a Maritimer and this is almost identical to my recipe but I mix in 1 tsp of garlic powder to the sugar when making the sauce. It is important to make sure you add the vinegar 1 Tbsp at a time and mix well so it will thicken. We had many a donair party while living in Western Canada and got many western friends addicted to our yummmy donairs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I thought this was pretty good although a bit hot for our taste. I was able to let the uncooked mixture sit for a few hours only rather than overnight as the recipe suggests. The sauce was a bit thinner than I had expected but perhaps was due to my method of mixing. I thought the taste, sweet/sour was a nice combination with the spicy meat slices. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recipe with us. I will make this again but will decrease the cayenne a touch, and I might try it with ground pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I have been using this very same recipe for years now, with the addition of 1 tsp of garlic. Just like that other Maritimer. I use the sauce for quite a few other dishes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Just like the ones at Big Red's in Chester NS. Thanks for taking me home for awhile! Everyone in my family liked it. An easy make ahead recipe. I did add the garlic powder like someone else suggested because that's the kind of sauce I'm used to. Here's a hint no one mentioned. The sauce is thicker right after it is made than if it sits in the fridge for any length of time. So I chilled it a bit and then used it right away. This is fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
i thought this was great. this sauce recipe looks better than dash's recipe on this site. i used this method--- Stir canned milk, sugar and garlic powder until sugar isdissolved. Add vinegar and continue mixing. The quicker you add thevinegar and the less you mix (I usually give the spoon 3 or 4 turnsaround the bowl), the thicker the sauce will be. Let sauce sit for atleast one hour in refrigerator before using. Eventually (hours to dayslater), the sauce may start to separate. DO NOT STIR IT. Simply skimthe thick sauce off the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I've never been to Halifax, but I have to say, this was mighty tasty. I was craving Turkish Doner...and used the meat recipe to satisfy that craving. Would use 1/2 the cayenne next time--but other than that, great. Didn't have any evap. milk--so made tzatziki sauce. So good and easy. A lot healthier too than typical doner, as I used 93% lean ground beef. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Really good recipe, I add 1 tsp of cumin and an extra tsp of garlic powder to the meat and have a different recipe for the sauce which includes garlic. Make this frequently and usually make 5lbs of meat at a time because it freezes so well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I made these donairs for supper the other night and my husband can't stop raving about them! I followed the recipe exactly and couldn't believe how easy they were to make! The meat sliced like it was roast beef and it was easy to get very thin pieces. For some reason though, the sauce seemed like the recipe called for too much milk. It was too runny. I did mince up some fresh garlic until it was a smooth paste and added it to the sauce. Though runny, the taste was awesome! I left it in the fridge until it was chilled.Next time I think I will use less milk.I can't wait until I make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Tried this and Loved it!! Used less cyanne pepper because i didnt want it to be too spicy and i added garlic to the sauce, Will no longer be buying donairs from take out places =) Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krisstah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
8-24-11: This turned out much too hot. Maybe I made a mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Taco Pizza from Pillsbury® Pizza Crust

Taco and pizza nights come together in one delicious, cheesy pizza.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States