The Original Donair From the East Coast of Canada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Turned out perfect with half the Cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I've made this recipe a couple times. It's turned out every time. If you have problems with the sauce try adding the vinegar, stir once or twice and let sit for a bit. Kind of like making buttermilk. Or use sweet condensed milk for a really thick sauce. I add garlic to both. Have fun with it and try making your own pita breads:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Good basic build recipe. The sauce needs garlic powder and white pepper though to be more in line with the real deal in Halifax.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
WAAAAAY too hot. It's so spicy that you can't even taste the meat. It was so uncomfortable to eat. I should have followed my instincts and cut the cayenne in half, but I stupidly followed the recipe to a T. I'd cut the cayenne waaaaay down. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I made this for my friend tonight, who has had donairs across the planet. This rated a million stars by his account, and mine! I doubled the recipe and kept the cayenne to 2 tsp. -also, the sauce did not require the whole 1/4 C., the taste method was a great tip. Thank you so much, I will make many more Donairs in the future! Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I added spinach leaves, diced tomatoes, and feta cheese to my Donair sandwich, may not be the original, but it's very, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Made this exactly as it recipe calls for the first time. It was great. Very spicy, and sauce was a little runny. Next time, cut back to 1/4 of the cayenne, and I used (out of necessity) condensed sweetened milk 2/3 c plus 1/4 c white vinegar and 1/2 tsp garlic powder. Sauce was thicker. Great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Simply delicious . Makes a fantastic quick meal .Might even replace my regular friday pizza...it will definately be added to my homemade pizza .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
So Fabulous! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This was great! Definitely consider reducing the amount of cayenne though...I halved it and still found it overpowered the flavour. Next time I'll probably limit it to a half teaspoon and add a bit more garlic powder. Also, as others mentioned, adding some garlic powder to the sauce works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Taco Pizza from Pillsbury® Pizza Crust

Taco and pizza nights come together in one delicious, cheesy pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States