The Original Donair From the East Coast of Canada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This was amazing brought me back to navy days in Halifax. It is absolutely the east coast donair
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Just like the ones at Big Red's in Chester NS. Thanks for taking me home for awhile! Everyone in my family liked it. An easy make ahead recipe. I did add the garlic powder like someone else suggested because that's the kind of sauce I'm used to. Here's a hint no one mentioned. The sauce is thicker right after it is made than if it sits in the fridge for any length of time. So I chilled it a bit and then used it right away. This is fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
great recipe ,we have loved east coast donairs for years hard to find a restaurant in our area so now we can enjoy them at home and they are 100%as good as any restaurant quality donair we have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I made these donairs for supper the other night and my husband can't stop raving about them! I followed the recipe exactly and couldn't believe how easy they were to make! The meat sliced like it was roast beef and it was easy to get very thin pieces. For some reason though, the sauce seemed like the recipe called for too much milk. It was too runny. I did mince up some fresh garlic until it was a smooth paste and added it to the sauce. Though runny, the taste was awesome! I left it in the fridge until it was chilled.Next time I think I will use less milk.I can't wait until I make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Really good recipe, I add 1 tsp of cumin and an extra tsp of garlic powder to the meat and have a different recipe for the sauce which includes garlic. Make this frequently and usually make 5lbs of meat at a time because it freezes so well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbignell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Middleton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This was great! Definitely consider reducing the amount of cayenne though...I halved it and still found it overpowered the flavour. Next time I'll probably limit it to a half teaspoon and add a bit more garlic powder. Also, as others mentioned, adding some garlic powder to the sauce works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
So Fabulous! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Simply delicious . Makes a fantastic quick meal .Might even replace my regular friday pizza...it will definately be added to my homemade pizza .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Made this exactly as it recipe calls for the first time. It was great. Very spicy, and sauce was a little runny. Next time, cut back to 1/4 of the cayenne, and I used (out of necessity) condensed sweetened milk 2/3 c plus 1/4 c white vinegar and 1/2 tsp garlic powder. Sauce was thicker. Great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Taco Pizza from Pillsbury® Pizza Crust

Taco and pizza nights come together in one delicious, cheesy pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States