The Original Donair From the East Coast of Canada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbignell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Middleton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Fantastic! As close to the donairs I remember from back home in the Maritimes that I have found! I didn't have any cayenne pepper so I ground my own red pepper flakes. I'm only giving a 4 star because though this sauce was good, I also made a version using sweetened condensed milk (2/3c) with 1/4C Vinegar and 1 tsp of garlic powder. Let it chill for an hour. I compared both and mine came out ahead. SUPER thick & delicious!! Thanks for this recipe, it's keeper. ** Edit ** Ok, so it's the next day and I tried the leftover, unused original sauce that is with this recipe and it thickened up really, very well and tastes *delicious!* I guess the trick is if you can make it a day ahead, go for it & it won't be runny, just resist the urge to stir the next day. My version is still thicker, but both are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I enjoyed these donairs...I ran out of cayenne and only used one teaspoon and it was plenty spicy. I agree with others that the sauce is too runny (and I even left out a little of the milk) but it was still good. I added several sprinkles of garlic powder to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Tried this and Loved it!! Used less cyanne pepper because i didnt want it to be too spicy and i added garlic to the sauce, Will no longer be buying donairs from take out places =) Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krisstah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
i thought this was great. this sauce recipe looks better than dash's recipe on this site. i used this method--- Stir canned milk, sugar and garlic powder until sugar isdissolved. Add vinegar and continue mixing. The quicker you add thevinegar and the less you mix (I usually give the spoon 3 or 4 turnsaround the bowl), the thicker the sauce will be. Let sauce sit for atleast one hour in refrigerator before using. Eventually (hours to dayslater), the sauce may start to separate. DO NOT STIR IT. Simply skimthe thick sauce off the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I've never been to Halifax, but I have to say, this was mighty tasty. I was craving Turkish Doner...and used the meat recipe to satisfy that craving. Would use 1/2 the cayenne next time--but other than that, great. Didn't have any evap. milk--so made tzatziki sauce. So good and easy. A lot healthier too than typical doner, as I used 93% lean ground beef. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
8-24-11: This turned out much too hot. Maybe I made a mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This was amazing brought me back to navy days in Halifax. It is absolutely the east coast donair
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Really good recipe, I add 1 tsp of cumin and an extra tsp of garlic powder to the meat and have a different recipe for the sauce which includes garlic. Make this frequently and usually make 5lbs of meat at a time because it freezes so well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I made these donairs for supper the other night and my husband can't stop raving about them! I followed the recipe exactly and couldn't believe how easy they were to make! The meat sliced like it was roast beef and it was easy to get very thin pieces. For some reason though, the sauce seemed like the recipe called for too much milk. It was too runny. I did mince up some fresh garlic until it was a smooth paste and added it to the sauce. Though runny, the taste was awesome! I left it in the fridge until it was chilled.Next time I think I will use less milk.I can't wait until I make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Taco Pizza from Pillsbury® Pizza Crust

Taco and pizza nights come together in one delicious, cheesy pizza.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States