The Original Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
Baked to the appropriate time, checked for color and bounce as per the instructions. BAM, completely raw inside. You need to cook this thing much longer than stated on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Kohler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
My kids(hubby,kids&grandkids lol) and I absolutely LOVE this recipe!! I have made it 4 times now, each time adding different things(toppings, ingredients, sizes, etc) and it's been a hit everytime 8) I was on the fence in the beginning on whether to make it or not bc of some of the reviews I read..... Idk what happened with theirs but I'm sure glad I gave it a whirl. I've done the following with it so far: First time made it strictly by the recipe & as I said it was perfect for us! Second time I added Peanutbutter Chips rather than Chocolate ones...Again Perfect! Third time I made it with a combination of both chips and drizzled melted Chocolate & Peanutbutter on the top. This so far has been our favorite as my group loves anything with the combo taste lol! Fourth(last time) I made the original recipe version but baked them in my Mini Loaf pans( the individual Brownie ones). This would have been perfect but I miscalculated the baking time by about 3-5 minutes (no fault certainly of the original recipe). Although edible, they weren't as moist as the previous ones So overall I give the recipe a 5Stars & a Big Thumbs Up! It certainly can be made in many many various ways as w/most recipes. I will add that the timing is crucial on this recipe but as long as u know how ur oven normally bakes at it should be fine 8) This recipe is a keeper in my goody box8))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tashalynn60

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
I was a little worried about this recipe because some people seem to have had trouble, but mine turned about absolutely perfect. I made this for my son's birthday party and I simply followed the directions, used a glass 9x13 pan, greased it, and it was absolutely perfect! I couldn't be happier! Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Stuart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
I made this for my family and everyone loved it! Perfectly moist! We had to bake it for 10 more minutes, my only complaint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
This recipe is terrible. I had to cook it for 10 extra minutes. I thought it was done because it sprung back when touched, but turns out it is overcooked around the outside and raw in the middle. Not great since it was supposed to be a birthday cake for my daughter. Now I have to figure out what else to make her. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisson Hajasz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This is a great recipe, thanks for sharing. I changed two things that seemed to make this more of a equal split between cookie and cake. I added 1 cup of quick cooking oats (food processed down to flour,substituted for one of the cups of flour). And instead of 1 cup of butter, I used 1 stick of unsalted butter and 1 stick of margarine. Also I like to add one bag of chocolate chips (regular size) and one bag of mini chocolate chips, bc it gives a almost saturated chocolate texture to the cookie cake, and the Kids LOVE it! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefTexasGirl:)

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Del Rio, Texas, USA
Living In: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I made this for my daughter's birthday party, and it was a huge hit. It is not a cake consistency, so if you're expecting it to have the mouth-feel of a cake, you will be disappointed. It's more like one of the giant, soft cookies that you get at the mall, which they decorate for birthdays and such. It was chewy inside, with a little more crisp at the edges. It was definitely not a bar cookie, either, but it was exactly what I was looking for. It's the same as the Tollhouse recipe with two extra eggs. The pieces were about 1/2 inch tall in the middle, a little taller at the sides. We omitted the nuts, but they would be wonderful. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Austin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I put this on a large pizza pan with sides. I was a little nervous it was going to expand over the edges but it held up. The cake ended up about 1.5" tall. I was a nice compromise for cake and cookie. It was very soft and chocolatey! The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Bostwick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
They were rather dry and the consistency was more like that of a specialty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I made this for a "Happy First Day of School" treat. It was easy to make and turned out great! I kept the leftovers for snack bars. I am overall very pleased with the taste. The consistency is somewhere between a cookie and a bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Hernandez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States