The Old Boy's Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This was an awesome recipe! This was my first strawberry pie. I used a simple crust recipe and I followed other peoples advice on the reviews, the brown sugar sifted on the topping makes it so good! I got rid of the excess sugar that collected at the bottom of the bowl and it had just the right sweetness. I'll be making one for my mom and grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This is ridiculously delish! I followed the recipe and turned out perfect. My boys begged for another, so I made more the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Larson Wurm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I agree with switching to the brown sugar oatmeal crumble on top ... Such a great pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Wilkison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
This recipe was great! I used fresh picked berries and followed another reviewers tip of not using all the flour/sugar mix in the pie.(just rolled the berries around in mix and tossed them in pie plate) It turned out perfect. I did add oatmeal to the crumb topping which was a nice addition. Actually making two more pies as I type this....we picked a lot of strawberries! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This is the BEST pie I have ever made or eaten for that matter! I will make this time and time again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Followed recipe exactly and it turned out beautiful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bmconl
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I used all of CookingCutie's suggestions with the crumble. I also avoided the excess flour mixture. The consistency was perfection. I enjoyed not having to deal with a top crust and still getting a pretty pie. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmconl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Just baked two of these, and while the topping is phenomenal, the filling isn't so much. So you all know, there will be left over mixture that you coat the strawberries with. I recommend decreasing the amount of flour in it by 1/3 or 1/2 of a half cup. So do a little less than half a cup, or only add 1/4 of a cup of flour into the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia Marquez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Best pie I've ever made! Everything came out just right, great with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This pie is really, really good. We read the comments and took a hint from CookingCutie on the topping and used her oatmeal mixture. I used a storebought pie crust and berries we picked ourselves. We did not mound the berries as previous reviewers suggested we did not do. Here is my secret for a delicious fruit pie, shared only here. Before mixing the ingredients together to stir into the fruit, I allow the berries to sit in some of the sugar for a while. Then reduce the sugar in your flour-cornstarch-sugar blend. Each portion of the pie was good, and if you like yours slightly tart, reduce the sugar overall even a little more. We added some whipped cream and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States