The Old Boy's Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Melanie Titus
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
I have made this twice now, and I LOVE, LOVE, love it!! I found the perfect pie crust for it and used some of the suggestions of others. i.e. not using all of the thickener, and using brown sugar. But I've made it in the "pure" recipe sense too, and it came out delicious, if not a little messy. lol The second time I mixed the strawberries with blueberries and YUM! Great recipe, definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Titus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brooke
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
I used some previous suggestions and majority of the recipe as is, pie came out perfectly and not too sweet, with the perfect texture. I only lightly coated the strawberries with the cornstarch, flour, butter mixture and halved the amounts of each used. Once coated lightly, I discarded the rest and didn't overfill the pie crust. I also made the topping with brown sugar instead of white sugar, covering the pie but not mounding it in the middle so it would cook evenly across the top. Great taste and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
This recipe is described by my daughter as deliciousness in a bowl. Of course we had this warm with vanilla ice cream. The topping was sweet and crispy. As it is strawberry picking season right now, we will be making this again next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran Hastings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Follow this and perfect pie every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Delicious recipe! I used the equivalent amount of strawberries and blueberries. I would recommend taking the foil off the crust 1/2 way through - the crust edge broke apart because it wasn't crisped up and I ended up with a berry crumble/crisp instead of a pie piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This was an awesome recipe! This was my first strawberry pie. I used a simple crust recipe and I followed other peoples advice on the reviews, the brown sugar sifted on the topping makes it so good! I got rid of the excess sugar that collected at the bottom of the bowl and it had just the right sweetness. I'll be making one for my mom and grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This is ridiculously delish! I followed the recipe and turned out perfect. My boys begged for another, so I made more the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Larson Wurm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I agree with switching to the brown sugar oatmeal crumble on top ... Such a great pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Wilkison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
This recipe was great! I used fresh picked berries and followed another reviewers tip of not using all the flour/sugar mix in the pie.(just rolled the berries around in mix and tossed them in pie plate) It turned out perfect. I did add oatmeal to the crumb topping which was a nice addition. Actually making two more pies as I type this....we picked a lot of strawberries! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This is the BEST pie I have ever made or eaten for that matter! I will make this time and time again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States