The Old Boy's Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Best pie I've ever made! Everything came out just right, great with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This pie is really, really good. We read the comments and took a hint from CookingCutie on the topping and used her oatmeal mixture. I used a storebought pie crust and berries we picked ourselves. We did not mound the berries as previous reviewers suggested we did not do. Here is my secret for a delicious fruit pie, shared only here. Before mixing the ingredients together to stir into the fruit, I allow the berries to sit in some of the sugar for a while. Then reduce the sugar in your flour-cornstarch-sugar blend. Each portion of the pie was good, and if you like yours slightly tart, reduce the sugar overall even a little more. We added some whipped cream and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
From Italy I say Delicious! Nice to see but especially...to eat! Next time I''ll add blueberry -as hlenz- thank you very much for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This turned out excellent and is the easiest pie filling to make! I didn't have any corn starch, so I just used all-purpose flour instead and it still turned out fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rpnewberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hangzhou, Zhejiang Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I burnt it (a little) and everyone still came back for a second helping! That's got to tell you something. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This was the bomb!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This was a perfect alternative for a baked strawberry pie when I could not find any rhubarb at the store. I made some alterations - - I used brown sugar instead of white for the topping. I used the same amount but next time will probably use slightly less. - I also felt like my strawberries were sweet enough to only use 1/2 cup of white sugar when coating them (along with the same amount of flour and corn starch). - Similar to another reviewer, I discarded the excess flour-mix after the strawberries were coated. - Between the butter in the topping and the extra bits added at the end, I used a whole stick. - I did a little final quick sprinkle of sugar on top near the end of the bake time. Probably not necessary but didn't hurt either. The pie was delicious warm with vanilla ice cream and equally tasty when eaten cold the next day. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Fantastic pie. Made it using CookingCutie's recommendations. Turned out great. Really pile up the strawberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I made this pie and it was delicious. I added cinnamon and mace to the strawberry mix and cinnamon to the topping. Great tasting pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States