The Old Boy's Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I made this pie using fresh summer strawberries and it was delicious!! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great! My husband loved it and he is not easy to please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This was SO good. My husband was a little leery at first, but he LOVED it! By reading other reviews I thought about trying the oatmeal crumble topping as suggested by other reviews BUT I stuck with the original (except used half white sugar and half brown sugar) and I am so glad I did! The topping was the best part and complimented the pie well! Will be making this again and will try using different berries or adding rhubarb next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Yummm... I had extra strawberries and wanted to use them up, and this was easy and perfect. I made it without the bottom crust to save calories, but with just the fruit and topping it was incredible - I can't imagine how much better it would be with a bottom crust too! Definitely will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Yum! As someone who's not a huge strawberry pie fan, I couldn't get enough of this warm with ice cream! MMM! I used "Cooking Cuties" suggestion and changed the topping from white sugar to a brown sugar/oatmeal/cinnamon crisp. Absolutely 100% perfect, even w/ a store-bought pie crust. Used freshly picked strawberries. MMMMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Great pie! Made this for a party and everyone loved it! My strawberries were really big, and I ended up using 6 cups instead of 4 to really fill the pie dish up. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I followed the directions and had no need to adjust ingredients. This was EASY and the preparation was a quick 15 minutes. My husband liked it so much he asked me to make it for his mother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jade
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This was the first pie (and crust!) that I have ever made and baked, and I found it to be quite impressive! Since I did not have fresh strawberries, I used frozen ones. I don't think there was too much of a drawback in doing so, except that it probably tastes less sweet than fresh strawberries. Anyhow, the filling had a yummy, sticky consistency to it, and wasn't too sweet like others have said so. However, I did omit the extra coating mix. I also did not find it necessary to mound the berries in the middle, nor wrap the edges of the pie crust with foil to prevent burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
5 Stars with the modifications I took from various reviews, including: discarding excess cornstarch mixture to prevent a "gluey" pie, using an oatmeal/brown sugar/cinnamon/nutmeg/flour/butter topping, and eliminating the addition of extra sugar during the last 10 min of baking. I also found that I needed to cover the entire pie, not just the crust, with foil during the last 15 min of baking to prevent the crumb topping from getting too dark. It was DELICIOUS. I used "Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust" from this site -- that one's a staple.... and this is too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
A pie that doesn't turn out is worthy of *no* stars. Not even if the topping was good, which this was. I should have expected it. A half cup of flour and a tablespoon of cornstarch is waaaaay too much thickener for four cups of ANY kind of fruit and I should have followed my gut and trusted my 50 years of baking experience. I even used five cups of berries and it still was a pasty, raw floury, unappetizing goo. (This literally WAS inedible - I'm not exaggerating merely to stress a point) It was a beautiful pie, I'll give it that, because the crust was great (Harden Your Arteries Pie Crust) and the topping was beautiful and delicious. But the disaster is obvious immediately upon cutting into it. Had this recipe called for half the amount of thickener I might have ended up with a decent pie, but the recipe is what it is and, if prepared as is with the error in the ingredients, is simply awful and a failure. (For those of you who are interested, I have posted a personal photo of the cut slice which is worth a thousand words)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This pie was a big hit with my husband and a buddy of his that was here while I baked it. I followed the directions as written and the only thing I did was throw away the excess flour, sugar mixture after coating the strawberries. They thought it was great, served it with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States