The Old Boy's Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I made this recipe in a 9x13, substituting the sugar for Splenda and adding blueberries for a potluck luncheon. The fact that there was nothing left to take home, when there were three chocolate desserts competing for attention, tells me it was a hit! I will make this again on a smaller scale for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
My husband used to bring me a raspberry pie that was made by a local caterer and sold in the store where he works. It was very similar to this strawberry pie. The raspberry was always a special treat, so I was very excited to find this recipe. The consistency and flavors blended fabulously. I used some frozen strawberries (thawed and patted dry) that I had picked earlier in the month. I used brown sugar instead of white sugar for the crumb topping and I didn't sprinkle any extra sugar on top. It turned out perfectly. I shared it with family and co-workers. They all loved it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Awesome pie! Followed other suggestions for the topping and discarding the extra coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I followed the advice of several reviewers and made the necessary modifications - the pie came out non-gooey (thanks to dumping the extra cornstarch mixture), brown and crisp on top (thanks to part of the sugar being brown and part of the flour being oatmeal) and the topping not over browned (thanks to the foil for the last 15 min of baking). All that worked, BUT.........I just didn't like the taste! Warm strawberry pie just didn't do it for me (I prefer the Fresh Strawberry Pie I) but my daughter and father really enjoyed this pie. To each their own! I won't eat another warm strawberry pie...but I'd recommend this reciepe to those who will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Awesome! However, I couldn't resist making a few minor changes; I used only white whole wheat flour and also used Splenda instead of sugar with the strawberries. I used brown sugar instead of white in the crumb topping and added cinnamon to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I feel like I wasted my beautiful fresh strawberries in this pie. My daughter and husband wouldn't even take a second bite...and they both love strawberries. Based on previous suggestions, after lightly coating the berries, I discarded the additional sugar/cornstarch/flour mixture. Even in doing that, the pie turned out gooey (and not in a good way) and tasting like flour. There was hardly any berry taste considering how much bland flour taste was present. I pre-tasted my berries, which were very sweet and full of fresh strawberry flavor. The only other flavor that came through was the crunchy granulated white sugar. Nothing blended well. It did, however, look exactly like the picture. Very nice presentation, but not taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I made this pie using fresh summer strawberries and it was delicious!! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great! My husband loved it and he is not easy to please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This was SO good. My husband was a little leery at first, but he LOVED it! By reading other reviews I thought about trying the oatmeal crumble topping as suggested by other reviews BUT I stuck with the original (except used half white sugar and half brown sugar) and I am so glad I did! The topping was the best part and complimented the pie well! Will be making this again and will try using different berries or adding rhubarb next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Yummm... I had extra strawberries and wanted to use them up, and this was easy and perfect. I made it without the bottom crust to save calories, but with just the fruit and topping it was incredible - I can't imagine how much better it would be with a bottom crust too! Definitely will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Yum! As someone who's not a huge strawberry pie fan, I couldn't get enough of this warm with ice cream! MMM! I used "Cooking Cuties" suggestion and changed the topping from white sugar to a brown sugar/oatmeal/cinnamon crisp. Absolutely 100% perfect, even w/ a store-bought pie crust. Used freshly picked strawberries. MMMMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States