The Old Boy's Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Something just did not taste right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I was very pleased with this recipe. This pie turned out wonderfully. I used brown sugar instead of white for the topping and margarine instead of butter. Some reviewers said to throw out the remaining thickening mixture, but I found that when you cut the strawberries into quarters or halves (depending on the size of the strawberry) it helps to absorb the flour/sugar/cornstarch coating better. I also used about 6 or 7 cups of strawberries instead of 4 and the pie filled out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Kristianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I followed the suggestions of the other reviewers (discard excess flour mixture & used brown sugar in the topping)& this pie turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Absolutely awesome pie. I love pie and I love strawberries but did not like the gelatin filling with most. I made this pie yesterday and it is wonderful. I did substitute brown sugar in the crumble topping. Worked great. Thanks to The Old Boy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
my first attemp at strawberry pie and it turned out delicious and pretty. i followed the advice of some and used flour, butter,oats, brown sugar,white sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANGSTON28

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This was more like a cobbler than a pie. Just messy looking, too goopy with flour, way too sweet and could not even be sliced like pie. Very disappointed in this recipe, but I guess you could serve it like cobbler with ice cream if necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by embeau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This is an all time favorite with my friends at summer gatherings. I am obliged to make it everytime. We refer to it as Strawberry Crack pie due to it's addictive nature. One awsome tip is to put it under the broiler for one minute after baking to give the topping an extra crispy consistency. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
this has been a MUST have of our family since 2004! double the crust recipe for more decanance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
My daughter made this with a graham cracker crust. It was delicious. I have made it with frozen strawberries too. It works fine. My family loves this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I generally make it in tart form but this is a great recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States